Kawasaki VN750 Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Newbie here... i have a problem that i am starting to think is electrical. I have no money to fix it right now so i'm hoping it's a simple fix... it's like this -

My rear cylinder would cut out while i was riding from time to time, and the last time it happened it didn't correct itself... at first i thought it was fuel/carb related, but i also noticed that the plugs looked crappy so i replaced those and checked them. The rear cylinder plugs seem to spark when they want to, so now i am thinking i have an electrical problem. i don't really think it's the battery since starting the bike has never been a problem, but then again i'm no mechanic by any means and i have read a lot on this site about weird problems stemming from battery/electrical issues... anyone have any idea?

it's raining like crazy here so i haven't had much of a chance to get to the battery (nor do i have any idea what to look for) - any insight?

thanks!

·
Banned
1,620 Posts
there is a link to the service manual on the forum someplace......download that and check out the electrical. IIRC, with the ign. on, the coils should have 12VDC on one pole and the other pole of the primary should go to the CDI box. I'd start there. Then check the pickups and pickup wiring to the CDI........

·
Registered
458 Posts
Check out my post named "Headlight Problem just got Worse" dated
03-25-2011. you will find a link to the service manual there, and its free.

·
Calif Rider
725 Posts
Check your connections for the rear coil. The power lead or the ground wire may have come loose. this happened to me after tinkering with things in that area. Since the bike is new to you you should try and clean up all your connection and grounds. Use a good dialectic grease on all the connection, to keep corrotion from building up.

·
Linkmeister Supreme
7,960 Posts
First thing is test the battery voltage.