Kawasaki VN750 Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Undercover Sportbiker
1,097 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Let me apologize in advance for being so needy. Normally I'm a little more adept at problem solving, but I'm new to wrenching on bikes.

I recently completed the ear shave on my 96. In the process I pulled all the EPA / CA emissions, plugged the left vent on the tank (as you sit on the bike) and ran a new hose for the right vent under the bike. My problem now (will they ever end?) is that the vent tube is dripping gas. There is a spot on the newspaper I put down on Sunday about the size of a quarter. The tip of the hose is also moist. Any thoughts on this? My first instinct is maybe the gas cap is not sealing properly. Maybe?

·
HAWK
2,576 Posts
Is the tank full, mine will do that if the tank is to full.
Expecally if you fill the tank on the centerstand and park it on the side stand.

·
Undercover Sportbiker
1,097 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Nope

Nope - in fact she's right at the little white line (on the gauge) that is the next up from the E line.

·
Registered
748 Posts
Are you sure you plugged the right vent? I've got a CA tank at home, but can't get there from here right now to check it...

Jim

·
Undercover Sportbiker
1,097 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Therein lies the problem. Some folks said plug the right vent and others said the left vent gets plugged. The coasters I got from SCP said plug the left vent and run the right one to the bottom. Some of the posts I read about fuel leaks said people had leaky O rings in the gas cap, but I have no leaks anywhere, so I'm skeptical.

·
Registered
748 Posts
Yeah, the CA tanks are different. On a California bike, both tubes off the tank go to the separator/return pump. The one going in the top comes from the vent at the cap; the one going in the side of the separator is the return line to the tank. When both have been removed, and the emission system pulled, unless you remembered to mark which was which...