Kawasaki VN750 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 42 Posts

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hello, im basically new to the bike and bikes world to put it like that, i have some mechanic experience in cars not to much on bikes, so i buy this bike 03 vulcan 750 6.5k on the clock.

Bike was sitting for around 7 months, i cleaned all the fuel system, she is running back normal in my opinion. bike has K&N air filters on, no ears( stock air filter box) and has open pipes, i will be placing the middle muffler back on soon, i have run it a couple times, and spark plugs are running black like too much fuel, and she makes backfires when decelerating. she seen pulling fine, and go all the way through RPM normal. She idles at 1k with no misfiring or anything like that, sound good for me, but im a NOOB and need some adv before i start cursing her on longer distances than 2 block street.

Any help here? thanks

·
Registered
730 Posts
black on the sparkplugs WOULD mean rich, but popping on decel means either one or both carbs are LEAN at idle (on decel)

You may benefit from adjusting the carb's idle mixture screw (small brass flathead screw inside the body of the carb) for the carb which feeds the side that id popping on decel.

in addition, I'd be surprised if your bike was running rich with pods and straightpipes unless it was rejetted. Did you add the pods and straightpipes, or did the bike come with them?

·
Registered
730 Posts
I should say, too, that generally if you've got popping on decel, "loosening" (turning counterclockwise) those idle mixture screws should help. It takes some fiddling, but you'll figure out what you want eventually.

If you turn them too far out, make it richer, close the idle stop screw to compensate, you can get hard starts and an excessive amount of engine braking force. Turn them too far in, make it too lean, idle screw opened up more to compensate idle, wacky idle and popping on decel. Carbs are complex!

·
Registered
31 Posts