Kawasaki VN750 Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I had the chance to do the ear shave procedure recently. Bike has been running great and been enjoying messing around with it. Reed valves and right side carb vaccum lead plugged, Uni filters installed, and k&n crankcase filter for the crankcase breather hose. Put everything back together and for a moment it sounded like it was going to run fine, but it died and will no longer start. I figured this might be because I didn't rejet, so I just put in some 140/40s and 2 shims on the jet needles (haven't adjusted air mix screws because I cant get those darn lead caps out). Was hoping this would solve my issues, but no luck, not even a sputter. I'm starting to think its a stuck float, but I'm a noob with these kinds of things so any ideas are greatly appreciated.

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Checked both, I see spark, but my plugs look pretty nasty so I'm going to replace them anyway. the fuel flow seems very uneven with the front output flowing more than the rear. Not sure what this means, but I was reading some old threads and saw someone who said their starter wouldn't create enough vacuum to open the petcock valve, is this a valid question?

·
Registered
10,061 Posts
Checked both, I see spark, but my plugs look pretty nasty so I'm going to replace them anyway. the fuel flow seems very uneven with the front output flowing more than the rear. Not sure what this means, but I was reading some old threads and saw someone who said their starter wouldn't create enough vacuum to open the petcock valve, is this a valid question?
It doesn't take much vacuum to open the petcock.

Fuel lines not running uphill and no loops in them?

Does it seem to be rich or not getting fuel?

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·