Kawasaki VN750 Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Git-R-Done!
282 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok, so I have a question about cornering on a motorcycle. Considering the fact that I have been riding for several years, I understand the fundamentals of leaning, accelerating through, etc. But recently, it seems I have found myself wondering something :

When you corner, and you lean, do you lean your whole body, like from the waist up? Or do you lean from the waist down, and keep you head/sightline basically parallel to the ground?

I guess the reason I am asking is because I did a no-no recently, and entered a turn on one of the freeways here in Phoenix a little fast, only to realize that it got tighter and tighter as it went around. It took me a bit by surprise. and I found myself leaning the bike from my waist down to hug the curve, but keeping the top portion of my body a little straighter. It worked for me, but got me thinking - is that the "right" way to do it?

What's your opinion/idea/experience? I'd love to hear it.

Thanks all, and safe riding :smiley_th

AZ Kev

·
Super Moderator
11,944 Posts
You can hang your whole body off .... But keep your head straight at a right angle to the ground. If you have to lean more...countersteer more, keep you head straight and looking through the turn.

Generally let your body just follow the bike...but keep your eyes level.

KM

·
Banned
1,620 Posts
Leaning 'waist down' is fine at low speeds (under 20 mph) even sliding your ass to the outside as you 'push' the bike down into the turn....but again, this is at parking lot speed. At highway speed you should be looking where you want the bike to go with eyes level to the ground..... turn your head into the turn and aim for the apex, or a little past.