Kawasaki VN750 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, I'm a noob to the site. I love it!!!

I have a '97 VN750 with just under 20k miles. Lately, it seems like my clutch is slipping: when I rev, it pulls weak, as if I'm engaging the clutch lever even though I'm not. My questions are:

1. This sounds like clutch slippage, no? I'm 90% sure that's what it is, but wanted to make sure no one else had ideas.

2. I'm assuming the only fix is to replace the friction plates, right? I was going to overhaul the clutch with the EBC Kevlar clutch kit (as suggested in the Verses). Anyone have up-to-date photos of this job? The photo links in the Verses are dead and I've never done it.

3. 20k miles seems too early for this, no? I live in Manhattan and spend a lot of time in traffic (engaging the clutch), but I assumed I'd get closer to 30-40k or more. Does the kevlar kit wear significantly better? I don't want to do this every 20k miles.

Thanks,

James

·
Premium Member
3,505 Posts
The movement in neutral is a classic sign of a cable in need of adjustment. If you haven't checked that yet, I'd do that first. Even a replacement cable is cheaper than new friction plates!

·
Giggity!
4,307 Posts
I'm not sure about others but I'm up to 41,000 & still on the origional clutch. But I am doing alot of hiway miles.

Also, there was a recent posting (walk through) on doing the clutch. Ah, here it is. I had it saved for when I'd need it.

Click Me!

·
Old Truck Junkie
4,133 Posts
I have 40,000 am I had reason to check the clutch. All the fiber and metal plates still look very good, with minnimal wear.

·
Linkmeister Supreme
7,960 Posts
Welcome to the Vulcan madness jjl.underwood
How long have you been riding the Vulcan? Is it your first scoot?

I agree with Cindy; adjust the clutch cable before deciding whether or not you need new clutch plates.

·
Registered
458 Posts