Kawasaki VN750 Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
gun slinger
1,110 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
how long these last ? i have a tad over 14,000 on this one i just switch to an over sized rear conti tire . i do a lot of 2 up rideng ( previous was a stock 404 tire) it seems to slip more so when it gets hot ( after 30 miles ) and only if i get on it ( above 5k rpms ) :confused:

·
Registered
399 Posts
maybe You need to readjust you cable, due to the clutch wearing a little. Im not an expert on this, but our 86 has 18,800 miles and its clutch feels just like my 2001 at 13,000 miles.

·
gun slinger
1,110 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I should shoot myself in the foot for bypassing the obvious!

·
Super Moderator
11,860 Posts
I rebuilt mine with a Kevlar kit at 6000 miles because it was slipping at high rpms under load. Two up riding here too...Went to pass a truck at 70-80 mph and it wasn't getting all the power to the wheel. Could actually hear it slipping.

New clutch and heavier springs cured it. Some folks might just be more "gentle" than me on the bike, but a new bike with a slipping clutch with those miles seemed off to me.

So, to answer your question, there's no telling how long your clutch will last. Most bikes I've owned I put in aftermarket clutches in at some point. To be fair, no problems yet with my FJR.... But I think they knew going in that a 145 hp motor required a stronger clutch.

"normally" your clutch should last at least 30,000 miles. But as they say, YMMV......

·
gun slinger
1,110 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
i just thought i would get some more out of it , then again i litterally ride the bike non stop it is now transportation to me :( the car and the truck just sit most the time

·
Banned
10,354 Posts