Kawasaki VN750 Forum banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Have had my 750 for about 4 months now. Just started to notice some oil on the garage floor. I am not a mechanical guy, so please forgive incorrect lingo and ignorance. Got under the bike and noticed one of the bolts that hold the two engine halves together has a broken mount. There is a bit of oil on the bolt, so it seems like it's not holding everything together tight enough. Any thoughts?

Attachments

·
Registered
150 Posts
It would appear you are correct. Part of your case is broken. Maybe hit something on the road? The only fixes I can think of require the engine to be removed from the frame at least. The bolt boss could be welded up, machined flat and drilled/tapped for the bolt. If you are only losing a few drops I would just put a piece of cardboard under it for now. Someday you may have to pull the engine and can deal with it then. Maybe even just get a used side case for cheaper than paying a machine shop. I wouldn't try it at home. Sorry, maybe someone else will have another idea.

If you check Roach's rebuild video, Pt. 6 when he splits the case, at about 3.07 minutes, you can see what it should be.

·
2000 VN 750 Senior Member
2,501 Posts
Have had my 750 for about 4 months now. Just started to notice some oil on the garage floor. I am not a mechanical guy, so please forgive incorrect lingo and ignorance. Got under the bike and noticed one of the bolts that hold the two engine halves together has a broken mount. There is a bit of oil on the bolt, so it seems like it's not holding everything together tight enough. Any thoughts?