Kawasaki VN750 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
64 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have read the verses but still have questions. I'm a newbie.

Bought bike Saturday, had friend drive it to my home. Sunday it had trouble starting but did start. It was trying to turn over and eventually started. It's a learning bike for me. I was trying to move it and I stalled it by not letting the clutch out slowly enough. My fault. After that I couldn't get it started again. It tried to start but I could tell it was getting weaker. Now it doesn't even try anymore. The dash lights don't even come on anymore. I'm pretty sure I killed the battery.

Went and got a charger and charged it overnight (12 hrs) and this morning the dash lights still don't come on. Reading the verses makes it sound like I probably need to look into doing a few things and I have questions:

1.) Should I try to jump start it? I could do so using a portable jumper box or use a non-running car.

2.) To access the battery, is there a good guide somewhere with pictures? I know I have to remove the seat.

3.) Replace the battery (the seller says this battery was purchased last summer). I see one at Advanced Auto Parts - won't let me link it up but it's an AutoCraft brand battery 14L-A2 - is this ok?

4.) Read that Westco or Yuasa sealed maintenance-free battery is the way to go. But where can I find one? I'm anxious to get the bike started and would hate to do a mail-order thing and wait. But will if I should.

5.) Also read that it's good to check/replace the main fuse in case it's a blown fuse deal. I don't think it's that in this case. I think I just wore the battery down.

Thank you for any advice! Pretty sure it's a battery issue just gotta figure out what to do next and how.

>:)

·
Registered
736 Posts