Kawasaki VN750 Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey all,

So in my heart of hearts I think (hope) this must be a simple problem.

The other day I started up the bike just to run 'er for a little bit and enjoy the sound only to have a few, brief seconds of running followed by endlessly cranking the battery starter to no avail.

I decided to give it some time and wait till tomorrow. My gut was telling me the engine wasn't getting gas, for some reason, so I did nothing. This morning I could get it started but had to hold the throttle open to maintain any kind of run. Also there was a lot of sputtering and unevenness from the exhaust.

Any kind of help is greatly appreciated. I'm still learning how to diagnose these problems; hope it isn't a biggie.

·
Member? ... check.
547 Posts
Hi drizdan,

Make sure you have a good charge on that battery before trying again.
Kinda sounds like low battery power. The VN750 demands a good strong battery to run properly.

~~C8>

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
No, it's not the battery.

Special update! Now the bike is back to not starting again. I feel like it's a question of fuel. Intake outtake back break I don't know.

·
Member? ... check.
547 Posts
ok ...
Have you pulled the plugs to see if they are wet with fuel ?
Have you checked to see that the petcock delivers fuel to each carburator ?
Have you checked that the carburator float bowl fuel levels are good ?
Have you looked for vacuum lines cracked, broken, or disconnected ?

~~C8>

·
Member? ... check.
547 Posts
Can you tell if there is good compression in the cylinders?
Does running the choke on full make a difference?
Crack open the carb fuel bowl drains, and see if you have fuel in the bowls.
Have you checked to see that you are getting a nice fat blue spark at each spark plug?

Check some stuff out ... and let us know some more info ...

~~C8>

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #6