Kawasaki VN750 Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just got my bike running. I have just put a new battery in it. I did not get the MF one but the one I got came from the Kawasaki dealer. This morning I went to run the gas out of it because I still have a hose or 2 to replace. When I went to start it would not even turn over. I took off the seat and the positive side post was melted. Any Ideas on this would be great seems as though I am new to working on bikes. Thanks

·
85 VN 700
1,033 Posts
I'm almost wondering if you're seeing acid damage - just not sure how it'd get up there.

At the same time - I'm pretty sure that if it was electrical your bike would have went up in flames if it was hot enough to melt a post.

Anyone got any ideas other than acid?

·
239 Posts
The only thing that comes to mind is that where the positive cable connects to the battery,if it were a loose connection and/or dirty it would generate heat.

·
and the Adventure Cycle
6,141 Posts
The only thing that comes to mind is that where the positive cable connects to the battery,if it were a loose connection and/or dirty it would generate heat.
That's what I would think too.
Is it the lead terminal on the battery, or the wire connection that attaches to the battery that melted?
If ya can post a pic, it'd be a big help in trying to figure out what happened.

·
HAWK
2,576 Posts
Heat generated that much could be caused by a short.
Look at the postitve cable and see if it got worn through or pinched somewhere.

·
Registered
135 Posts
if pure lead was used for terminal it might lower the melting point.I've bought a battery that had terminals so soft I was able to twist them off the battery by finger pressure. just a thought.

·
Registered
11 Posts
"I took off the seat and the positive side post was melted."
Side post?