Kawasaki VN750 Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Newbie here.
I know ya'll have seen this 1k times.
VN750 2006 2k miles. Vance & Hines exhaust, rejetted. Just marbled and now starts and idles way better. but still backfiring at steady throttle 3000rpm and up and on deceleration on rear cylinder. And a slight stumble or hesitation on acceleration. Found an intake leak earlier by spraying Berryman. Tightened clamps but not sure that solved it I used up all my Berrymans. It has set long periods. Also at the exhaust rear cylinder is not 1/2 as strong as front. Thinking may have to pull carbs.

·
Registered
2,687 Posts
Check the air cutoff valves on the carbs. Those valves could be checked without taking out the carbs. Mine never stopped backfiring and I know these are the culprits, I just haven't replaced them. You can find them for about $35 each set on eBay, including the spring and the tiny o-ring. You could also find them on other motorcycle parts sites, but if you're only buying one or two parts, it might be cheaper on eBay.

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Now leaning toward electrical. I pulled the spark plug wires and rear cylinder runs strong. So that tells me I'm not getting enough voltage to run both coils at the same time.

·
Registered
2,687 Posts
You could measure the voltage at the coils with a voltmeter or multimeter.

Look into the coil relay mod. Basically, you disconnect the coils from the wiring harness and add their own circuit. Just going straight from the battery, into a relay, and then into the coils. The relay should be activated by the ignition switch so you don't drain your battery while the bike is parked. This helps a LOT with low coil voltages. You basically get the same voltage as the battery, at the coils.

·
..have a vulcan good day!
4,508 Posts