Kawasaki VN750 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 130 Posts

·
Registered
66 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi new to the forum I have had my Vulcan for 2 years bought used for $2,000 us 10,000 miles I have had no issues with it except the past couple weeks battery has died and left me stranded I am new to working on bikes but I am great with Auto tech so I know there are 3 major components to the charging system battery which is new the stator and rectifier which I have just bought both new I am just going to replace everything I have figured out that it will charge when cold but as soon as the engine is hot it stops charging so I tested the stator and it definitely is bad looking to do the tuxedo mod any suggestions before starting

·
Registered
8,253 Posts
Welcome to the machine!

Stator heats up, expands, metals ground out, dead stator. Good catch.

Be sure you're ready to do a clean accurate cut on the case . Oil leaks suck.

Check your balancer dampers.

·
Registered
66 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks what do you suggest for a cutting tool I watched a video where a drimal was used had alot of shavings was wondering if a small cut off tool would work better

·
Registered
8,253 Posts
I've seen bad results and really good results. Depends on skill and patience of the craftsman.

I just pulled the cover and skipped the mod, got to the part of making a thicker gasket using silicone and froze up. Jason Pittenger has a thread going where it looks like he's handled the gasket gap problem in a good way. Been kinda impaired lately so I may not get everything right if I try to tell you.

Cutting the case away from the engine is the best plan, much easier to see you are getting an accurate cut. If I had to, I would use the machine shop at my old job, but they closed the doors for good last month. 75% of a global company, gone.