Kawasaki VN750 Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all,

I just bought my first bike about a month ago, a 1988 Kawasaki Vulcan 750. I haven't had any problems with it until the other day. I was riding along and noticed that I had no tach, temp gauge, fuel gauge, or neutral indicator light. I have turn signals and it starts fine. When I stopped, I discovered that I also had no headlight, no tail/brake light, or horn (hadn't noticed that before because the turn signals work). The alternator is charging fine and I haven't found any broken wires yet. I have the Kawasaki maintenance manual with wiring diagrams and I'm an aircraft mechanic, so I do understand them. Any information or ideas would be greatly appreciated. Thanks very much.

- Mike

·
Registered
468 Posts
remove the left side cover and check the fuses. that would be a good start. cheapest anyway. check all ground wires and clean with a small wire brush. clean the connections using contact spray then put electrical grease on all conections. any other questions feel free to ask. good luck.

Sent from Motorcycle.com App

·
Registered
468 Posts
one of these is perfect for the harness connections. should be able to pick up at lowes in the welding supplies. or most auto parts stores.

Sent from Motorcycle.com App

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks emtdon. Fuses are good, everything worked before I rode. I was on lunch, rode home, unlocked the door for my wife, started back up, and was halfway back to work when the gauges went out. There wasn't anything intermittent, just all of a sudden. I started chasing wires a little...I don't have power to the headlight and tail light fuses. There is power to the acc fuse and the main fuse.