Kawasaki VN750 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am in Thailand with this bike, fantastic when its running but my Oh my does it give me a headache when it doesn't start.
I've had the bike nearly 2 years and have never really solved this problem.
I'm no mechanic myself, so please be gentle wiv me if u can help.
Simply put, if I put a newly charged battery on it will start, however after a few Kms cruising average speed (100KPH) then it will not start again and it appears as if there is no life left in the battery, i.e. sluggish turnover.,,,,dadadadaddaaaaaaaa dadadadadadaaaaaaaaaaaaaa.

There are no qualified Kwacker mechanics here and no dealerships and I can't get the owners manual off the net and delivered to Thailand.

I can answer any queries here 24/7 i fu can help me>

Thanks in advance

OeJ:smiley_th

·
Registered
271 Posts
Sounds like a stator failure to me. The battery isnt charging, its running constant loss. Connect a volt meter to the battery while the bike is running, you should get at least 14 volts showing on the volt meter.

·
and the Adventure Cycle
6,141 Posts
Also, are you sure the newly charged battery is a good battery? Might just need to have that replaced.

·
Once Banned
2,125 Posts
Sounds like mine exactly. Put in a maintenance free battery, like a YUASA YTX14AHL-BS. It's hard to believe, but it'll suddenly work fine. I thought mine was the starter solenoid, then the starter. The starter would hit "dead spots" - which sounds like what you are trying to describe. I could get it started in the morning, but I needed to park near a hill when it was warm. And it would start right up when I used a hill to start it. As if the problem was my imagination...

·
Growling at the World...
564 Posts
It's either a stator or a regulator failure. Hopefully it is the regulator as that is easer to get to...

But first, check your grounds. A loose ground wire to the frame could also cause this condition.

·
Registered