Kawasaki VN750 Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a 97 VN750 that, earlier this month, I was forced to lay down to avoid an incident ahead of me in an intersection. When it was all said and done, and I got the bike towed back to my garage, I found that the forks are a little out of line, and I can't get it started. The forks I don't care much about because I have a spare set in the shed, but I just can't get the thing started. It tries to turn over but just can't quite get there. There's been no fuel leakage since the accident, nothing seems damaged that might affect this, at least on the outside. I've gotten it to backfire a couple times, but that's all. I'm no master mechanic so I definately want to at least have somewhat of an idea as to what I'm doing before I start pulling parts off. Any ideas?

·
Premium Member
2,850 Posts
Sounds like one (or both) cylinders are loaded with fuel holding the piston(s).

Pull the plug and crank it once or twice. I'd suggest heavy rags over the holes, and wrap the plug leads in rags too.

One time when I saw a guy do this on a riding mower the plug lead was close to some metal and allowed a spark when he turned the key. Same time as the spark fired a bunch of gas blew out of the plug hole directly across the sparking wire and boom! Fire! LOL

·
Registered
80 Posts
I think slim might be on the right track. Do you have a maintenance free battery, or a lead/acid? If you have lead/acid check your acid levels, and battery voltage.

·
Sparky!!!
8,696 Posts
Ok I am going to give some advice I learned long ago. After a wreck no matter how big or small, there is a series of checks one must do before driving or riding again. First look for fluid leaks. If found find their cause. If no leaks found move to the battery. Make sure it is strapped in properly, no cracks, and all cables are tight. Check frame and suspension for obvious damage. Repair all faults found before trying to ride or drive.