Kawasaki VN750 Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys, real newbie here. Never ride or own before. I'm looking at buying a 1994 Vulcan 750. It's got 27,000 miles on it. When I test ride it, it seems to vibrate quiet a bit. Is that normal? I heard people say that I will start having problems are 30K miles. What are your experiences with this year model? What should I be expecting with this bike?

·
Registered
8,802 Posts
Vibration is not normal, for a v-twin, the 750 is as smooth as an inline. May see some slightly higher vibes at idle, but it's not buzzy. Balancer bushings could be bad.

Charging system and dry splines are just about the most common problem.

·
Registered
857 Posts
I replaced the dampers in mine and I do still get some substantial vibration, though it WAS reduced. (Used to make my feet go numb within a mile at 4-5k RPM, now makes my feet tingle just a bit)

I may still be experiencing some other problem, or perhaps a bad install on the dampers, but I seriously doubt that at this point.

I voiced concern over my vibrations after the damper job, and Knifemaker chimed in and said that even from the factory his bike would transmit vibrations enough to make his feet tingle a bit and his mirrors go a bit blurry. Then again, at 27k miles + 23 years old the bike are very likely in need of new dampers.

How substantial is the vibration? Do your feet go numb on the pegs? Do your hands get uncomfortable holding the handlebars? If so, you will likely have to replace them very soon if you buy it.