Kawasaki VN750 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 94 Posts

·
Registered
61 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just bought a 1986 VN750. It vibrates on takeoff and through the gear changes. Took it to a mechanic and he said it's not the motor, maybe the engine mounts. Can anyone help if they had similar problem. I am new to this sort of bike, so any input would be great.

·
Premium Member
2,850 Posts
Welcome to the forums. It could be the mounting bolts, some folks have had them loosen and fall out, some have tightened them to stop vibrations.

Could be out of balance wheels, bent rims, or bad tires.

Could be the engine, even though a mech. says otherwise.

I'd look at it real good first, bent rims, wheel weights etc. And take a wrench to all the nuts and bolts a the same time, make sure it's all tight.

Do you know any history of the bike, like was it crashed or something?

·
and the Adventure Cycle
6,141 Posts
Check the oil (using the side drain with the screen in it, not the bottom of the engine drain) for any bits of rubber. Like Doug mentioned, could be the engine....... balancers going bad.

·
Linkmeister Supreme
7,960 Posts
Do you have any vibration from the engine at higher rpms when the bike is not moving. Just trying to eliminate the engine as a source of the bad vibs.

·
Love My Baby
1,165 Posts
My baby was vibrating quite noticeably. All it was, was the handlebars needed to be tightened to the proper torque (17.5 ft-lb). Four bolts on the handlebar clamp under the plastic cover tabs.

·
Registered
61 Posts
Discussion Starter #6