Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums

Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums (https://www.vn750.com/forum/)
-   Electrical (https://www.vn750.com/forum/19-electrical/)
-   -   Loose gauges (https://www.vn750.com/forum/19-electrical/5427-loose-gauges.html)

Finallygot1 09-20-2007 11:47 PM

Loose gauges
 
Not sure if something is loose or what. My tach and speedo are not even with each other. The speedo seems to be really loose ,jumps around on these "smooth PA roads" . Is there a bushing or something to look for or just take them apart to tighten them up?

googy00 09-20-2007 11:52 PM

they are rubber mounted inside the chrome besel with 2 10mm nuts. Just had mine apart last week and wasn't able to correct it. I was kinda afraid to over tighten a break stuff.

tlg1 09-21-2007 12:10 AM

Had the same problem with mine a few years back. I disassembled them and found that the rubber mounts had cracked. I then made some new ones out of .50 inch diameter rubber bumpers that were lying around. just took a little trimming for thickness. Haven't had a probem since.

T.G.

EasyRector 09-21-2007 12:39 AM

My speedo and tach housings were a little loose (cockeyed, vibrating) -- I just tucked the cables under them and that seemed to stabilize them in place, evenly.

moose 09-22-2007 12:40 PM

theres a steel bracket which mounts the clocks via the bushes one could be bent,also my speedo appears a lot looser than my tacho and two days ago my speedo cable unwound itself and dropped off so my advice regularly check the knurled nut at the top of the cable,i know i will be,cheers moose.

niterider 09-22-2007 01:17 PM

Check the nut at the wheel too. Mine was getting loose at the wheel.

Frank_G 10-12-2007 10:26 PM

Loose Gauges
 
I had this problem with my tach mostly. The problem is the isolation bumper has a ridge that breaks down. I went to my local home depot and bought some rubber washers to "pad" up the space. This worked well. The Speedo doesn't bounce as much as the cable kinda stiffens things up but, it also uses the same mount. You may want to add a large fender type washer on the back under the nut to further limit movement!

Frank.

Dianna 10-13-2007 01:05 PM

I got irritated with my tach "bounce" so after looking at how they were mounted, I added a stabilizing bracket between them.
The Tach and Speedo are held off the instrument cluster with a single arm bracket. This gives them the ability to "wave" as you go down the road.
I picked up a brushed aluminum L bracket from Home Depot and drilled two holes, one at each end for the bucket screws to go through
https://www.vn750.com/photopost/data/503/tachbrace2.jpg

Result is, no more bounce, a stronger support and.. I have a place to mount a clock, blends in nicely too
https://www.vn750.com/photopost/data/503/tachbrace1.jpg


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:49 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome