Eliminating Dash and Gauges - Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 09-07-2013, 12:28 AM Thread Starter
Young Rider-Young Daddy
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Texas
Posts: 4
iTrader: (0)
 
Lightbulb Eliminating Dash and Gauges

Hi guys! So I like the bike so far, but one the that stands out is the side by side speedo and tach gauges and the UGLY center dash piece (the piece with the signal, lights, and neutral info)

Anyway... I'm thinking it'd look good (as I am a minimalist) to remove the speedo, tach, and center piece and replace it with a single aftermarket speedo similar in size and shape to the origional. It'd clip on to the handle bars near the center preferably.

Anyone have ideas/pics where the stock gauges and dash are removed?

-YGR
Young Gun Rider is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old 09-07-2013, 03:06 AM
Senior Member
 
Ceal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 2,687
iTrader: (2)
 
Take off the headlight and headlight bucket and work your way from there. It's not hard to do.

1985 VN700 unknown mileage (over 33K)

AGM Battery
Iridium spark plugs
NGK wires and caps
Relocated R/R
Marbled
Ceal is offline  
post #3 of 13 (permalink) Old 09-07-2013, 03:30 AM
Sparky!!!
 
slimvulcanrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 8,695
iTrader: (3)
   
Garage
Here is a Acewell Didgital Dash 2853 installed on a vulcan 750. The Guage is tthe same size as the Stock Speedo or Tac, but incorperates the whole dash into one unit.



slimvulcanrider is offline  
 
post #4 of 13 (permalink) Old 09-07-2013, 06:40 AM
Senior Member
 
Deviate's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: St. Augustine, Florida
Posts: 1,253
iTrader: (5)
 
In my opinion removing the gauges and dash and replacing with something like the Acewell isn't the problem. It's how ugly everything is under there once you take it all off. I'd like a single gauge too, but I can't figure out a any way to clean up the ugly without a lot of work, time, and money.

Quote:
Originally Posted by LibertyPilot View Post
Leave it to me to NOT be fond of something then end up banging it.
Deviate is offline  
post #5 of 13 (permalink) Old 09-07-2013, 09:03 AM
R/R = Relocated Redneck
 
Jakzen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: N. Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 628
iTrader: (5)
 
You can make a dash panel and put it in to hide the ugly if you're running a windshield or fairing, otherwise, you're right...

I'd like to do something like this, but the wife seems to be out of patience with my tinkering on it for the last several months...

Sent from Motorcycle.com Free App



Mods
Voltmeter/clock/temperature gauge
HD Electra Glide Fairing
Earshave/Coastered/CA emissions - gone...
R/R relocated
Nightster seat
Tombstone taillight
Drag specialties turn signals relocated
Sportster progressive shocks... Dropped rear 1 1/2"
Progressive Fork Springs dropped front 1"
NGK plug wires and iridium plugs
Coil Relay Mod
Paint
ACCT to MCCT
Honda Rebel luggage rack
VN800 Handlebars & controls
Screamin Eagle mufflers
F&S Engine Guard & Kury highway pegs
Jakzen is offline  
post #6 of 13 (permalink) Old 04-21-2014, 03:14 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 14
iTrader: (0)
 
I've just done this.

It was pretty easy. There are two bolts on either the side of the indicator light box that holds the whole assembly together. I think its a 12mm. Anyway unbolt it and remove it. You will have to disconnect the wiring harness from inside the headlight housing. The headlight can be removed by unscrewing two screws at the 4 and 8 o'clock position. Be sure mark your ignition switch for the "on" position since the position markings are part of the box you're removing.

As you disconnect the wires, turn the bike on and make sure your headlight is still working. I don't think there would be a problem but it's always best to check. If all is well, you can either trace the wires you aren't using and disconnect them further, or if you are feeling froggy, cut them. I traced them to junction just above the coil on the left side and cut them there.

I also removed my left side switch housing, choke lever and clutch switch. If you want to know how to do that, hit me up.

DT
TheDTShow is offline  
post #7 of 13 (permalink) Old 04-21-2014, 03:16 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 14
iTrader: (0)
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Deviate View Post
In my opinion removing the gauges and dash and replacing with something like the Acewell isn't the problem. It's how ugly everything is under there once you take it all off. I'd like a single gauge too, but I can't figure out a any way to clean up the ugly without a lot of work, time, and money.
I plan to take a grinder to the top triple tree and tidy it up. It still won't be amazing, but it'll be much less clunky looking. I won't grind too much off, just the bolt holes and try to smooth things out. I don't want to risk screwing up its strength.
TheDTShow is offline  
post #8 of 13 (permalink) Old 04-21-2014, 07:01 PM
2014 KLR 650!
 
Goofyfoot2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Tega Cay, SC
Posts: 3,359
iTrader: (1)
 
I prefer more information. I want gauges for damn everything. Temp of my arse on the seat if possible.

2014 Kawasaki KLR 650
Back to the Kawa World
Goofyfoot2001 is offline  
post #9 of 13 (permalink) Old 04-21-2014, 10:47 PM
Sparky!!!
 
slimvulcanrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 8,695
iTrader: (3)
   
Garage
Goofy, check out that acewel I linked... It has more gizmos than the stock instrument cluster

Sent from Motorcycle.com Free App
slimvulcanrider is offline  
post #10 of 13 (permalink) Old 04-22-2014, 01:43 AM
Ndr
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 856
iTrader: (10)
 
The only thing that's missing from acewell is a temperature gauge. As far a I was able to find, they do not have an option for one. That would be another gauge you'd have to mount if you want to have that info.

......I'd rather wake up in the middle of nowhere then in any city on earth.

*2014 VN900 Custom (16,200 miles and counting)
Ndr is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

Once registered, your User Name"cannot be changed". We can make exceptions within 7 days, but after that, it is set in stone.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome