So when did you stop wearing your gear? - Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums
Motorcycle Safety Discuss safety ideas/tactics or safety-related products.
Ride Smart!

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 83 (permalink) Old 07-09-2010, 05:11 PM Thread Starter
At Least I Can Spell!

So when did you stop wearing your gear?

(no need to respond unless answering the question - not looking for feedback from my mom or lectures on the evils of going gear-less)

When I started riding way, way back in January of '09 , there I was, MSF trained and putting around with a loud, armored jacket, armored over-pants, riding boots, leather gloves and of course a my full face helmet. As time has gone by and my comfort level has improved, along with my skills and willingness to accept more risk, I've changed my level of commitment to wearing ATGATT. The jacket got lighter and over time armor free, the riding pants got hung up for good, and finally the boots are gathering dust in the closet.

I can now be found on the streets and highways with a full face helmet, mesh gloves, surgical scrubs or hawiian print shirts, my favorite jeans and sneakers. (I even wore shorts one day last weekend but don't think that will happen again) If it's cooler I'll slip into my hoody, and if real cold I add the leather jacket and chaps if needed to keep out the chill, along with timberland-like boots. I also plan to try and open face helmet - you never know.

So when did you stop wearing your gear?

Michael
2002 Nomad 1500
VROC #29972

----------------------
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 83 (permalink) Old 07-09-2010, 05:25 PM
Yahoo VN750 Group Owner

Send a message via Yahoo to Pick
I won't lecture -- just tell you that I never ride without full gear. So in order to answer your question -- "not yet."

Jim "Pick" Foster
Dixon, IL
VROC #9492
2010 Honda NT700V
http://www.flickr.com/photos/jimfost/sets/
http://s186.photobucket.com/albums/x294/jimfost/