information for new members - Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums
New Member Introductions First Post?
Make your big introduction here.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 04-04-2012, 11:04 AM Thread Starter
Members who have donated towards server costs

information for new members

OK, let me state up front that the following is my opinion only, as an auto and equipment mechanic. I am not a motorcycle mechanic.

I recommend that if your bike still has it's stock intake system that you leave it on, and use stock filters. Same with stock exhaust. If you want more noise, I suggest getting an aftermarket system designed for your bike, and rejetting for it if necessary. The VN750 was designed for a specific amount of airflow through the intake, and a certain amount of backpressure from the exhaust. Unlike, say, a Harley, the VN750 has a highly tuned engine that makes a lot of power for it's size. Cutting up the stock intake or stock exhaust changes that tuning, and, again, IN MY OPINION, will not only lower the power output, but cause engine damage as well. It is a known fact that using pod type air filters, ala earshave, will allow more dirt to get into your engine, which I believe will cause accelerated engine wear.

Most of the above (other than the part about pod filters allowing more dirt to get through) is strictly my opinion. I am posting this, because many members here have different opinions, and I wanted to express my views on these things. It is your bike and your choice. I just ask that you consider all opinions and do some research on it before making possibly harmful modifications to your bike.

I am a motorcyclist, NOT a biker.

1997 Vulcan 750, purchased about a week ago
2006 Sportster 1200 Low
2013 Royal Enfield Bullet 500, converted to carb
2001 Yamaha XT225, heavily modified
2004 Honda Rebel 250
1979 Vespa P200E
2002 Vulcan 750 parts bike
1994 Yamaha XT225 parts bike
Sponsored Links
Advertisement