Explosives Guy - retired - Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums
New Member Introductions First Post?
Make your big introduction here.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 12-28-2010, 03:16 PM Thread Starter

Question Explosives Guy - retired

I started riding in 1968 on a BSA 441 Shooting Star. Married and traded for a Suzuki TS250R Enduro. Moved to Minnesota, too cold, riding season too short - sold bike. Moved to Maryland in 2003, bought 2002 VN750 on eBay from guy in Fairfax, VA. Still looks new in 2010.

I'm having a cold-starting issue. Do I post it here or on another thread?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 12-28-2010, 05:01 PM
Linkmeister Supreme

Welcome to the Vulcan madness Dr. Pete. I`ll take your question here, although it could go to the carbs and fuel forum too.

It is unclear in your post if you bought the bike in 2003 when you moved to MD, or if you just bought it with a cold starting issue recently. I will assume the latter.

Hard starting, cold or hot, has been a common problem with the vn750. It likes a fully charged battery. If you still have a conventional wet cell battery with caps on top to add distilled water, change it out for a Maintenance Free- AGM battery (MF-AGM). These are sometimes mistakenly called "sealed", but they are really Valve Regulated Lead Acid (VRLA) technology.

Here is a link to a good one.
http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/Deka-...item3eee173adb

Combined with changing out your current spark plugs for a set of NGK Iridium DPR9EIX-7 plugs will probably cure the cold starting problem. If not try using 1/2 choke. We had a thread during the past month or so addressing your cold starting problem and several members mentioned finessing the choke to get the engine started in cold temps.

If that doesn`t cure your problem get back to us and answer the following questions.

Has the bike been sitting for an extended time without being ridden? How long?