Yo - Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums
New Member Introductions First Post?
Make your big introduction here.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 12-14-2009, 12:44 PM Thread Starter
Members who have donated towards server costs

Yo

I joined this forum some time ago, but never really posted here. I have been a member of the Yahoo Groups VN750 forum for several years. I am a fleet services mechanic (32 years), and own and ride an '02 Vulcan 750. Jerry.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 12-14-2009, 01:55 PM
and the Adventure Cycle

Welcome back, Jerry! Glad ya remembered about us!! LOL

AKA: Tim & 'The Adventure Cycle' VROC #24567, NEVROC, SteelCity VROC

"When life throws you curves,
Aim for the apex."

Author Unknown
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 12-14-2009, 03:10 PM
Linkmeister Supreme

Welcome back to the Vulcan madness Jerry. Judging from your years as a mechanic, you must be an old fart like me. (56 years old).
How long have you been riding? I just checked your other 2 posts, and see you have logged quite a few miles on a pair of vn750s. Have you owned and ridden any other bikes to compare them to?

With your experience as a fleet services mechanic, I would be interested to read about your experiences with the 750 Vulcan as regards reliability and durability over the 125K+ miles that you have travelled on them since 1992.

Of particular interest to me and other members of the forum, I think, would be any
-electrical charging issues, stator and reg/rect replacements, or any r/r relocation,
-spark plug choice, ie. do you recomend the NGK Iridium DPR7EIX-9, as most here do?

-rear spline wear and choice of lube, which engine oil and filter you use,
-what different tires you tried over the years, and your impressions and favorites.

- any mods you have made.

Have you used the bike for long distance rides and holidays? Or mostly for everyday riding and commuting?