doesnt want to rev down when changing gears - Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums
New Member Introductions First Post?
Make your big introduction here.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 29 (permalink) Old 09-01-2009, 12:28 AM Thread Starter

doesnt want to rev down when changing gears

Just got a 1995 VN750A11 and my only complaint so far is that it does not want to rev down quick enough when I'm changing gears. It does rev down eventually, it just seems to take its time doing it. Starts fine, runs fine, idles fine. Throttle is fine, doesnt stick, snaps back when released so I dont initially suspect the cables or adjustment on them but I'm still learning the bike...any suggestions?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 29 (permalink) Old 09-01-2009, 08:05 AM
Members who have donated towards server costs

Welcome to the group. Is this your first bike? Are you watching the tach, or waiting for the engine to slow down? The tach is going to continue to show high revs during a normal (quick) shift because it takes a little while for the engine to slow down with the clutch engaged, which is fine. Really don't want the engine to loose many revs, at least when upshifting. My procedure is to pretty much simultaneously roll off the throttle, engage the clutch, upshift, release the clutch and roll back on the throttle. When down shifting, I usually let it coast a little between gears.

I'm keepin' all the left over parts. I'm gonna use 'em to build another bike!

Old Blue
2001 Honda CMX250 Rebel acquired July, 2008

1987 VN750 project bike, acquired August, 2009, 33,000 miles and balancer sticking out of the case, currently awaiting attention and parts
post #3 of 29 (permalink) Old 09-01-2009, 08:59 AM Thread Starter

Smile