Hi. i am a newbie and i need your help - Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums
New Member Introductions First Post?
Make your big introduction here.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 16 (permalink) Old 07-27-2009, 02:44 AM Thread Starter

Hi. i am a newbie and i need your help

Hi.
First of, i am an idiot. I purchase this bike out of compulsion and now i think i have a problem. I am hoping that someone could help me out. It is an 86 vn750 with 14k on it. All inputs are appreciated.

Problem: the front engine (cylinder) seems to produce less power than the rear. Maybe 60 percent compare to the rear.

From the sound and exhaust air exit, i noticed that the rear engine sound louder and push more hot air out of exhaust pipe. Is this normal on a vulcan 750 to have one cylinder produce more power than the other? I have custom home made drag pipe run along both side ( just like V&H cruzer), so the front engine has a longer pipe. Would this be a factor?. How could i tell if this weak combustion caused by carbs or valve?

I have brand new sealed batteries (agm), all new ngk spark plugs ( dpr7ea-9). When i star it, it seems like the front engine pick up first and then the rear catch on. It does seems like it run great and smooth in all rpm. Steady accleration all the way up to 70mph. however i dont know how a good working vulcan 750 run like. RPM hand does not stay steady at a steady speed, does this need carbs sync?

Potential causes:
1. Carbs need clean up or sync. I noticed that the gas tank is rusted when i fill up gas. So could this clog carb of the front engine cause it to give less fuel?. The air/mix screw still has factory lead seal so i assume both carbs are in original setting.
2. Ignition coil. I have tested all coil and it does give sparks. could i have bad coil?
3. bad or damage valve? . This is where it get over my head. I am a newbie.