New owner in Dayton, OH - Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums
New Member Introductions First Post?
Make your big introduction here.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 07-08-2009, 08:00 AM Thread Starter
1986 Vulcan 750

New owner in Dayton, OH

Hi! I am a new owner of a 1986 Vulcan 750. The bike only has 5,500 miles and has spent the last 18 years sitting in a barn. I took the bike to local service shop, where the carbs have been rebuilt and tank relined. They have the bike started, but there is a bad top end noise. I am hesitant to have them further service it, as the price tag is going to climb pretty steeply. I am thinking of maybe tinkering with it myself, even though I have little experience with motorcycle engines. This forum, however, seems like a great resource.
Anyway, the bike is in pretty good shape externally. This will be my first motorcycle, although I have been riding a 125cc asian scooter for the last 18 months.
So, the next day or so I am going to have to make a decision on the future of my bike.
Just wanted to say hi and see if there are any members close by.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 07-08-2009, 08:51 AM
Love My Baby

Hi jrw32. Congrats on the bike purchase. Only 5500 miles on an '86? What a find!

Can you describe the top end noise with a bit more detail? Our bikes are known for a grinding rattle-like noise caused by the cam chain tensioners, which is an inexpensive fix if you do it yourself.

Hope you enjoy your new bike. Read the Vulcan Verses in this forum and follow the suggestions for all new bike owners - it will save you much grief. Also, may I suggest you take a basic riders course and then an experienced riders course. I will make you a much better rider and could really save your life or at least your bike! Look up these classes by clicking HERE. There's one in Xenia which is close to Dayton.

Rubyrick

MY BABY...
'05 VN750
16,000 miles +
Kawi tank bib