Kawasaki VN750 Forum banner

New to the crew

945 views 7 replies 5 participants last post by  OleDirtyDoc 
#1 ·
Whats up guys! My name is Carlos and I'm out of Parsippany in north NJ. I work as an estimator at an auto body shop. I've been riding off road since about 12 years old but this is my first street bike. My dad had one I rode a lot as well but now I'm finally riding my own. I'll admit I get a little nervous riding especially with the lack of brains on the road in NJ. I've been wrenching since a kid too and do all of my own work at home. I don't have any formal mechanic education, but I'm confident in my "self-taughtness" lol. I'm a pretty chill guy. Not trying to get into arguments or anything. Not many people in my circle ride and the few that do love their crotch rockets. This forum seems great for anyone with answers. I didn't know much about this bike at first but I keep loving it more and more everyday. Hope you all can keep that going for me. I'm not too shy either. Anyone want to ask me something, just say hi.

Hobbies? Hmm riding (even mountain biking), going to wineries and cideries. Looking for good food spots. Hiking. And art related things like drawing, painting and graffiti murals. 420 friendly haha.

#2 ·
Welcome to the machine!

The off-road background helps on the street. Maybe check up on defensive riding and reading the road surface. Rider safety courses cover this. And there's always those cellphone drivers.

A little game I play on rides, is count many crashes was I able to avoid. It keeps your head in the game, like... "Ha, I got you, you didn't get me!" It's usually 2-3 minimum on short rides.

Like they say, just ride like everyone is out to killya.

#3 ·