Kawasaki VN750 Forum banner

Back after lots of inactivity.

681 views 5 replies 4 participants last post by  Spockster 
#1 ·
Hi all,

So I signed up a long time ago made like two posts then disappeared for a few years. After buying a project 86 vulcan, selling my 95? Vulcan to get money to buy a car. then trying to get my project to run I've been reminded of this place with every problem I have with the 86. Anyways I figured I'd start back here again and re-introduce myself.

I live in Tacoma, WA
I've been riding on and off for the last 3 years. (Currently off)
I've pulled the engine from my bike so many times I can practically do it blind-folded now. I have no problem pulling the engine and tearing down the heads and cylinders.

Basically I've been all over the forums trying to figure out why I can't get the bike to run. I bought it for $200 the owner said that the repair shop said that the acct broke and timing got off. After Pulling the stator cover off the engine I found bits of plastic and metal. The Balancer came off and ground down a bit of the case sending bits of metal shavings to who-knows-where in the engine and broke a bunch of the dampers in the process. I replaced all the dampers, got the balancer back on. Put it all back in and.... no dice. I took it back out. I've done a lot of stuff since that which I could talk about if anybody was interested (and if I can remember, this has been sitting in my garage for over a year now.... maybe 2) but the Tl;dr I can't get my bike to run and thats probably a post for a different thread.

Thanks for looking at my rant!

See less See more
#5 · (Edited)