Where do I begin??? - Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums
Engine / Exhaust / Cooling
\ From the radiator, through the case and out
the exhaust. If it has to do with the cooling,
engine or exhaust, discuss it here!

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 04-01-2007, 11:48 AM Thread Starter

Where do I begin???

I've been working on an 86 VN750. Picked it up cheap a few months ago. It started up and seem to run/idle ok, so I began some work on it. I'm not a mechanic and have been busy with replacing parts within my capabilities. I replaced the fork seals, master cylinder, a couple of cables, and painted the fenders. Now here's the problem. I took it for a quick spin down the road yesterday and it really bogs down under a load. It seems to want to stall as soon as I release the clutch. I assume this bike has been sitting for a while due to the inspection sticker being a few years old. Any thoughts on where to begin??

TIA...Roger
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 04-01-2007, 11:52 AM
Members who have donated towards server costs

Two quick things to check would be the safety switch on your sidestand - someone just posted a similar problem the other day; clutch release, stall out. The switch can go bad and think that you've still got your stand down. Check that. The other is to get your carbs cleaned out, especially if the bike's been sitting for awhile. first step would be to get some SeaFoam (Pep Boys, Advance Auto), dump it into your engine, and try running it clean. I tihnk everyone here on the FOrum swears by SeaFoam now - if we thought it'd clean out our own pipes, I'm sure we'd be drinking it for breakfast!!

C
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 04-01-2007, 11:53 AM

check the vent tube hose going into the riders right-sided air intake housing. if it is pushed in all the way this can cause a problem on acceleration. best thing to do is cut the tip of that tube at a 45 degree angle and re insert it.