Replace a 750 with a 700? - Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums
Engine / Exhaust / Cooling
\ From the radiator, through the case and out
the exhaust. If it has to do with the cooling,
engine or exhaust, discuss it here!

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 07-12-2012, 09:57 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Northern NH
Posts: 34
iTrader: (0)
 
Replace a 750 with a 700?

Found a vn700 with about 10k miles as a possible engine replacement for my 750. I know that it should bolt right into my frame and all. Just wondering if I'd need to do any carb work or anything else to make it right. Anyone ever done this? Have any tips for it?
Jacknh is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 07-12-2012, 10:26 PM
Sparky!!!
 
slimvulcanrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 8,695
iTrader: (3)
   
Garage
direct swap.. nothing needs to be changed to go from one to the other... when we are talkling whole engines. now if we were talking just the heads... you would need the jugs, pistons, piston rings, connecting rods, and rod bearings. all the rest of the parts are interchangable
slimvulcanrider is offline  
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 07-12-2012, 10:30 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 450
iTrader: (0)
 
Garage
If your just swapping engines and keeping the 750 carbs, you may need to downsize the jets.
Rebel13 is offline  
 
post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old 07-13-2012, 05:25 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Northern NH
Posts: 34
iTrader: (0)
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rebel13 View Post
If your just swapping engines and keeping the 750 carbs, you may need to downsize the jets.
That's what I was thinking, too. But if that's the only issue, then it's probably worth doing.
Jacknh is offline  
post #5 of 6 (permalink) Old 07-13-2012, 08:37 AM
Sparky!!!
 
slimvulcanrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 8,695
iTrader: (3)
   
Garage
why would you have to rejet.. the 700 and the 750 are jetted the same from the factory.
slimvulcanrider is offline  
post #6 of 6 (permalink) Old 07-13-2012, 09:05 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Northern NH
Posts: 34
iTrader: (0)
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by slimvulcanrider View Post
why would you have to rejet.. the 700 and the 750 are jetted the same from the factory.
Good to know! I'll just run it and see what happens.
Jacknh is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

Once registered, your User Name"cannot be changed". We can make exceptions within 7 days, but after that, it is set in stone.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome