coolant - Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums
Engine / Exhaust / Cooling
\ From the radiator, through the case and out
the exhaust. If it has to do with the cooling,
engine or exhaust, discuss it here!

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 3 (permalink) Old 03-03-2012, 10:44 PM Thread Starter

coolant

Since I am new to this bike how do know if there is enough coolant in the bike. How do I check if it is good?

Blessings!
Richard
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 3 (permalink) Old 03-03-2012, 11:04 PM

Check the coolant tank on the right side. you could also pull the cover off the steering head on the right, remove the pressure cap and take a look. Like a car, only do this with the bike cold.
post #3 of 3 (permalink) Old 03-04-2012, 02:04 AM
Members who have donated towards server costs

Since you just got the bike, I'd do a complete coolant change. Here's how it is done.

1. Start engine and warm it up, shut it off.
2. Remove drain plugs from radiator, bottom of engine by right footpeg, base of both cylinders.
3. Remove the 2 plastic pieces of the steering head cover, and remove the filler cap on right. Let all coolant drain.
4. Put all plugs back, finger tight.
5. Start engine, and SLOWLY fill with DISTILLED water through the coolant filler neck. Must be done slowly to let air out.
6. Let engine run a few minutes to circulate the DISTILLED water.
7. Shut off engine, remove all drain plugs. If the water looks clean, go to next step. If it looks dirty, repeat the above procedure until the water comes out clear.
8. Install all plugs and tighten them. You may want to use new copper washers to prevent leaks. They are very cheap compared to having to deal with a leak later on. Use only oem washers, not something from a hardware store.