VN750 popping on deceleration - Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums
Engine / Exhaust / Cooling
\ From the radiator, through the case and out
the exhaust. If it has to do with the cooling,
engine or exhaust, discuss it here!

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 16 (permalink) Old 11-11-2011, 11:59 AM Thread Starter

VN750 popping on deceleration

I have a 2001 Kawasaki Vulcan 750 that has a popping sound when decelerating. It didn't do this until after I had my accident. Now it does it every time I ride. It isn't really an issue from what I can tell, as most people have said it won't hurt anything. However, it's pretty annoying and bothersome for me and I'm sure cars around me don't like it. I planned to take it in to have it looked over anyway during the winter to make sure nothing is messed up on it from the accident, but I figured I would ask some people on here for their ideas or suggestions. I am pretty new to riding and I really don't know much about repairing bikes AT ALL. I'm a true newbie!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 16 (permalink) Old 11-11-2011, 12:24 PM
Crap, I WAS in 5th gear.

Exhaust popping is caused by a lean condition in the exhaust. Search for "marble" in this forum, and check all your carb boots and vacuum lines- something might have been knocked loose is your accident.
post #3 of 16 (permalink) Old 11-11-2011, 12:30 PM
Old Fart

Garage
Accident? What hit the ground?

Check your header pipes where they bolt up to the cylinders and the clamps at the other end.

If You Are Not Sure If I Am Joking or Not....I AM !!Photos:
http://www.flickr.com/photos/knifemaker1954/sets/

post #4 of 16 (permalink) Old 11-11-2011, 09:28 PM
Members who have donated towards server costs