Rear Cylinder Problems? - Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums
Engine / Exhaust / Cooling
\ From the radiator, through the case and out
the exhaust. If it has to do with the cooling,
engine or exhaust, discuss it here!

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 08-22-2011, 10:02 PM Thread Starter

Rear Cylinder Problems?

I just bought a VN750 that I knew had an issue, but I couldn't pass it up because it was almost free. The bike runs and I can ride it. I have risen it about 15 miles since I bought it yesterday. I am planning to take it to the Kawasaki dealer nearby to have them check it out, but decided to do some basic troubleshooting until I take it to them. Also bear in mind, this is my first bike and I have no experience working on them.

So here is the problem. When I am riding and it is below 2200 rpm it seems to stutter, once I get it up above 2200 it rides just fine. Also when you cross the 2200 mark there is a sudden increase in power. Other than this issue, the bike runs great. Once above 2200 rpm this bike has a ton of power!

I decided to pull the plug wires to make sure I was getting a spark on each of them. This checked out fine as they all are generating a spark. However, when I pull the plugs on the rear cylinder there is no change in the engine. In other words, its as if the rear cylinder isn't working. Keep in mind this is at idle. This could explain the sudden increase in power at 2200 rpm, as I am guessing this is when the second cylinder kicks in and starts working. When I pull a plug wire from the front cylinder, you can here the difference just as you should.

Earlier today, I thought it may be a carb issue so I put some Sea Foam in the tank when I filled it up. I did notice a mild improvement, but I checked the plug wires after I had ran that through.

Anyone have any ideas on what may be the problem or any further troubleshooting steps to take?

Thanks,
browngd
'93 VN750
Cobra Pipes
PowerMax Battery