Iridium spark plug gap - Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums
Engine / Exhaust / Cooling
\ From the radiator, through the case and out
the exhaust. If it has to do with the cooling,
engine or exhaust, discuss it here!

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 05-20-2011, 02:29 PM Thread Starter
Be True, Be Safe!!!
 
cheeser's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Rochester N.Y.
Posts: 42
iTrader: (0)
 
Iridium spark plug gap

Thought I read it somewhere but can not find it. Do the Iridium plug come pre gapped or do you gap them. If so what to. I will continue to search but I bet posting this is faster. Thanks

Found it. Pre gapped.


2005 VN750
Purchased 5/2010 w/7100 mi. mi
R/R relocate
Spline lube 05/10
Marbled
After-market Mirrors
Voltmeter
Iridium plugs
AGM MF Battery
Tank Bib Courtesy of Achaundy
Saddle Bags
Wolo Bad Boy Air horn
Protac driver backrest
Ccspiner Driver Floor Boards


Pending
Highway Pegs
Luggage rack.

Last edited by cheeser; 05-20-2011 at 02:47 PM.
cheeser is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 05-20-2011, 04:45 PM
Senior Member
 
baldy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: St. Albans, Maine
Posts: 796
iTrader: (0)
 
You should still check the gap. It could have been changed if the box was dropped or rough handling in shipping. I have always checked the gap and would say 50% of the time the gap is off.

01' VN750
Jardine cross over exaust
Kyriakin grips and foot pegs
Modified seat and backrest
Windshield
Luggage rack
Crash bar with Kyriakin pegs and extensions
Kumho 758 165/80-15 CT rear Dunlop 404 110/90-19 front
Coastered and air/fuel screws at 2.5 turns
Spline lube

93' VN750 getting TLC
Decals and mirrors
Coastered and air/fuel screws at 2.5 turns
ACCTs to MCCTs
Degoated with Harley mufflers
Duro 110-90-19 front 150-90-15 rear
Pick-up coils at .020
Spline lube
baldy is offline  
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 05-20-2011, 04:58 PM
Members who have donated towards server costs
 
JM2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Rochester, New York
Posts: 1,803
iTrader: (1)
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by cheeser View Post
Thought I read it somewhere but can not find it. Do the Iridium plug come pre gapped or do you gap them. If so what to. I will continue to search but I bet posting this is faster. Thanks

Found it. Pre gapped.
Check the gap. Two of mine were way off. .032-.034 works good. Be careful of the center electrode if you have to re-gap them.

JM2001

" Loud Pipes Risk Rights "

2001 Vulcan 750
marbled
TOC upgrade on ACCT
Air/fuel mixture set to 2 1/2 out
rectifier relocated
splines lubed
iridiums
decals removed
upgraded mirrors
Pic up coil mod done
degoated
All LED lighting
Upgraded Mosfet rectifier
JM2001 is offline  
 
post #4 of 5 (permalink) Old 05-20-2011, 06:36 PM
HAWK
 
Ccspinner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Chicago land
Posts: 2,576
iTrader: (9)
 
Send a message via Yahoo to Ccspinner
Be very careful on checking the gap on Iuridum, The tip is very sensitive and you can damage the plug.
All our factory plugs for Toyota state right on them "Do not gap"
The coting on the plug is so thin that you can scratch it and cause a thin spot which will result in premature plug failure.

Chad Falstad "Hawk"
Vroc #17649
2011 HD Ultra Classic "angel"
2001 Nomad 1500 Sold March 2012
2001 VN 750 "Sold June with 2008 with 21,000""Serinity"
Ccspinner is offline  
post #5 of 5 (permalink) Old 05-20-2011, 09:18 PM
Senior Member
 
cglennon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 735
iTrader: (0)
 
Send a message via Skype™ to cglennon
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ccspinner View Post
Be very careful on checking the gap on Iuridum, The tip is very sensitive and you can damage the plug.
All our factory plugs for Toyota state right on them "Do not gap"
The coting on the plug is so thin that you can scratch it and cause a thin spot which will result in premature plug failure.
They are suppose to come preset at .035" from the factory. Take the advise above; verify and install the ones that are and return the ones are not.


p.s. Mine were all properly factory set.


Chris Glennon - Portland, OR
cglennon is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

Once registered, your User Name"cannot be changed". We can make exceptions within 7 days, but after that, it is set in stone.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome