Cam timing problem or ??? - Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums
Engine / Exhaust / Cooling
\ From the radiator, through the case and out
the exhaust. If it has to do with the cooling,
engine or exhaust, discuss it here!

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 06-06-2006, 07:37 PM Thread Starter

Cam timing problem or ???

I bought a 1985 VN 700 from a friend. It's in nice shape but it won't run. It will start up but won't continue to run. The local dealer told him the rear cylinder cam has jumped time possibly due to a cam chain issue. He also said the engine had to be removed to fix the problem. The bike only has 18,000 miles. Is there a way to check the cams before removing the engine? The dealer he took the bike to isn't always on the up and up so I'd like to double check his diagnosis. This is my first Vulcan (and V-Twin) so I have no previous knowledge of this engine configuration. Thanks in advance, Snapper
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 06-06-2006, 07:44 PM
Members who have donated towards server costs

Send a message via Skype™ to 93VN750
Will it continue to run if you rev it, or does it just start and die no matter what?

While running, does the engine sound "healthy", or is it making clacking noises? From both cylinders?
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 06-06-2006, 09:39 PM

Is is unlikely the cam chain jumped a cog. Several people have done the "Grambo trick" while their bike is running at idle and have not jumped a cog.

Unless your friend (or the dealer) was reving the bike up while messing with the Automatic Cam Chain Tensioner (ACCT), I don't think the cam chain jumped a cog (but it is possible).

Do you have a clymer manual? It shows how to make a tool (with tinsnips) to keep the ACCT wound up so it can be re-installed after you remove it from the bike. That way you could take it apart and rewind it a little tighter.