Fan and temp gauge - Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums
Engine / Exhaust / Cooling
\ From the radiator, through the case and out
the exhaust. If it has to do with the cooling,
engine or exhaust, discuss it here!

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 08-15-2019, 06:38 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
mmart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 246
iTrader: (1)
 
Fan and temp gauge

What’s up all, I’ve done a few searches through the site and haven’t found exactly the answer I’m looking for. My question is ,as the title suggests, about the fan and temp gauge, my fan works, I hear it when city riding and when parking. My temp gauge never moves though, I’ve read the trouble shooting tips for the temp sensor under the tank and will try those when time permits. But are these two electrically related? Does the fan get triggered by a different sensor? And the temp gauge is just related to engine temp? I haven’t spent a whole lot of time looking into this yet and trying to understand where all my possible causes are.
Thanks
mmart is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 08-15-2019, 07:03 PM
Senior Member
 
Spockster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: WV
Posts: 6,581
iTrader: (5)
   
The fan switch on the left side of the radiator controls the fan.

There are some tests in the manual for the temp gauge. When you ground the temp sender wire, the needle should swing to the right. Do this only long enough to see if the needle moves. (probably need the key on)

2003-21k mi
Shaved w/UniPK92+Stock Jets-TPE/MOSFET-Shinko Tires-AGM batt-bags-chrome-LEDs...more
__________________________________________________ ____________
Repair Manual: http://www.mediafire.com/file/mj7z81..._Catalogue.pdf

Owner's Manual: http://www.mediafire.com/file/nscb5f...ers+Manual.pdf
Spockster is offline  
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 08-15-2019, 07:10 PM
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: SW Florida
Posts: 2,451
iTrader: (5)
 
the engine temp sensor for the gauge is under the tank, right side, on the thermostat housing if I recall correctly

2005 VN750

Sold 11-27-17
michiganteddybear is offline  
 
post #4 of 7 (permalink) Old 08-15-2019, 09:06 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
mmart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 246
iTrader: (1)
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spockster View Post
The fan switch on the left side of the radiator controls the fan.

There are some tests in the manual for the temp gauge. When you ground the temp sender wire, the needle should swing to the right. Do this only long enough to see if the needle moves. (probably need the key on)
Ok good, This is similar to what I was reading earlier. If grounding it moves the needle the sender is the culprit correct? Essentially bypassing the sender??
mmart is offline  
post #5 of 7 (permalink) Old 08-16-2019, 09:29 AM
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: SW Florida
Posts: 2,451
iTrader: (5)
 
yes, that would work for testing the gauge itself.. remember, sensor on radiator is for turning on fan only, coolant temp sensor for gauge is on the thermostat housing

2005 VN750

Sold 11-27-17
michiganteddybear is offline  
post #6 of 7 (permalink) Old 08-16-2019, 10:39 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
mmart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 246
iTrader: (1)
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by michiganteddybear View Post
yes, that would work for testing the gauge itself.. remember, sensor on radiator is for turning on fan only, coolant temp sensor for gauge is on the thermostat housing
Thanks that’s what I wasn’t clear about, at first I was thinking they’re we’re tied to the same sensor and my first thought was the gauge itself was bad. This is my next little project after I fix the door on my truck! Fun never ends
mmart is offline  
post #7 of 7 (permalink) Old 08-19-2019, 08:27 PM
Members who have donated towards server costs
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Chandler, Arizona
Posts: 2,850
iTrader: (0)
 
I would only let the needle move about 3/4 of the way over. You don't want to burn it out. It is part of the cluster and cannot be replaced separately. If it starts to move over, then replace the sending unit. Of course there is always the possibility there is a bad connection somewhere between the sending unit and gauge. You might want to check that with an ohmmeter first.

I am a motorcyclist, NOT a biker.


1997 Vulcan 750, purchased about a week ago
2006 Sportster 1200 Low
2013 Royal Enfield Bullet 500, converted to carb
2001 Yamaha XT225, heavily modified
2004 Honda Rebel 250
1979 Vespa P200E
2002 Vulcan 750 parts bike
1994 Yamaha XT225 parts bike
VN750Rider/Jerry is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

Once registered, your User Name"cannot be changed". We can make exceptions within 7 days, but after that, it is set in stone.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome