Includes backrests, luggage racks, windshields,
floorboards, pegs, and riding gear

2Likes
  • 1 Post By OleDirtyDoc
  • 1 Post By Gibby

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 11-07-2017, 10:47 PM Thread Starter

Torque Wrench Advice Needed

Just bought a torque wrench and I have some concerns. I've never used a torque wrench before and it feels kind of strange when I tighten bolts with it. I'm sure that part of the problem is that all my life when I tighten a bolt I tighten it almost as tight as it will go. Now that I am using a torque wrench it seems like I'm not tightening enough. For example the caliper mounting bolts call for 24 ft-lb of torque. The feel of this is like it's just past snug. The wrench I bought was fairly cheap. How do I know if it is giving me a correct reading? It's the type where you set the ft-lb on the shaft and when you turn it there is a pivot point just down the shaft from the head of the tool and it bends when you get the desired torque. The axle caliper nuts call for 14.5 ft-lb of torque so it is less pressure than the other. My question is, how tight should 24 ft-lbs feel? Really tight or just past snug? The bolts were a lot tighter when getting them off than they are when putting them on. Maybe the last person over tightened? Maybe the wrench is giving me a bad reading?

Last edited by Gibby; 11-07-2017 at 10:51 PM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 11-08-2017, 06:11 AM

Garage
Most people way overtighten bolts/screws and the ones you take off have usually been there for years and are seized on, But if your still concerned take it to a garage and ask someone to test it for you.