Tool Box Lock - Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums
Equipment
Everything related to equipment
Includes backrests, luggage racks, windshields,
floorboards, pegs, and riding gear

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 04-11-2014, 09:55 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
spock750's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Fairmont,Minnesota
Posts: 35
iTrader: (0)
 
Tool Box Lock

I know, I didn't check the lock to see if it was loose. Well it was and I lost the lock. Does anybody have the length of the barrel of the lock? I bought one to replace it but the barrel was too long and goes to far into the toolbox and the lock won't line up with the catch inside the box. I will silicone the nut on this time. Thanks Guys. Oh and I did search in the verses and couldn't find the length. Might have missed it tho.

2002 Vulcan 750
things to do: When time allows.
Relocate rear turn signals. (have parts) Done. Thanks Pittdave
acct to mcct (TOC) Done
Iridium plugs
Luggage rack
Hiway bars and pegs
Tank Bib Done (Thanks Romeobravo172)
spock750 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 04-13-2014, 08:22 PM
Senior Member
 
razorbackvn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 242
iTrader: (0)
 
Lock

Standard cam lock will work. I bought one at our local hardware store had three different tabs all were to long . I took the flat one to work and ground about a half inch off it worked perfect.
razorbackvn is offline  
post #3 of 4 (permalink) Old 04-13-2014, 10:23 PM
..have a vulcan good day!
 
WilliamTech's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Pensacola, FL.
Posts: 4,508
iTrader: (17)
   
Quote:
Does anybody have the length of the barrel of the lock? I bought one to replace it but the barrel was too long and goes to far into the toolbox and the lock won't line up with the catch inside the box.
Quote:
Originally Posted by razorbackvn View Post
Standard cam lock will work. I bought one at our local hardware store had three different tabs all were to long . I took the flat one to work and ground about a half inch off it worked perfect.
idk.....suggest 1/4" shaft length....

good luck


'86 VN750 13,700 mi -Stock
-Purchased 2008 w/8800mi
Replaced ALL Cables . Kuryakyn LED Voltmeter
SilverStar Ultra 9003/HB2 H4 Headlamp, Jardine Fwd Controls,
Iridiums DPR7EIX-9 & Wires, Tuxedo Mod, Coil Mod, P/U Sensor Mod, Fork Seals,
Splines Lubed - 11/4/2012 - MF AGM Battery
Additional Flashing LED Brake Light on Trunk
Dampers went out @ 13+K !
After TOC MCCT's..... so amazingly quiet I discovered a rattling heat shield on my stock exhaust !
...have a vulcan good day!
WilliamTech is offline  
 
post #4 of 4 (permalink) Old 04-14-2014, 09:35 AM
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: SW Florida
Posts: 2,463
iTrader: (5)
 
if you need one, I have a working lock (complete with trunk, broken hinge) I can part with.

you will need to get a keymade/rekeyed

2005 VN750

Sold 11-27-17
michiganteddybear is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

Once registered, your User Name"cannot be changed". We can make exceptions within 7 days, but after that, it is set in stone.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome