guages - Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums
Equipment
Everything related to equipment
Includes backrests, luggage racks, windshields,
floorboards, pegs, and riding gear

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 07-15-2007, 08:38 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: vacaville, ca
Posts: 159
iTrader: (2)
 
guages

I want to change to a sleeker style guage. Will any guage be able to be used or do we need specific ones to be accurate?
tanz1983 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old 07-16-2007, 04:27 AM
Drive less, ride more...
 
theauhawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: SW Ga
Posts: 1,114
iTrader: (0)
 
What make/model gauge(s) are you most interested in?

If you're a little more specific about what you want, I think you might get some more detailed feedback...

'05 VN750



For other bike pix & mods, go to:
http://s1203.photobucket.com/albums/...k/VN750%20pix/
theauhawk is offline  
post #3 of 13 (permalink) Old 07-16-2007, 01:34 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 80
iTrader: (0)
 
I've been thinking about changing my tank out so I can have the single gauge in the center of the tank and give the front of my bike a cleaner look. That and the extra fuel capacity would be nice too. Anyone on here done something like that?
shameless is offline  
 
post #4 of 13 (permalink) Old 07-16-2007, 04:10 PM
and the Adventure Cycle
 
hyperbuzzin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Western PA
Posts: 6,138
iTrader: (1)
   
Quote:
Originally Posted by tanz1983 View Post
I want to change to a sleeker style guage. Will any guage be able to be used or do we need specific ones to be accurate?
I think it was on eBay, I saw a smaller tach that is supposed to be for the Vulcan 750.
As for the tach, as I understand it, it works off one of the coils, so any that work like that, I'd think, would work on the Vulcan.

The speedo may be a bit more difficult. You'd probably need to have the correct gear ratio for it to be accurate. But that's not to say there isn't something out there that'll work. Just may take some trial & error to find a good replacement.


AKA: Tim & 'The Adventure Cycle' VROC #24567, NEVROC, SteelCity VROC


"When life throws you curves,
Aim for the apex."

Author Unknown
hyperbuzzin is offline  
post #5 of 13 (permalink) Old 07-16-2007, 06:48 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: vacaville, ca
Posts: 159
iTrader: (2)
 
I wanted to go with the harley sportster speedo and gett rid of the tach.
tanz1983 is offline  
post #6 of 13 (permalink) Old 07-19-2007, 08:17 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 46
iTrader: (0)
 
whats to stop you putting the new guage in the OEM tank?

you got to be careful when putting a new tank on, that its not to bulky, because believe me, its looks awful.

I was planning on putting the speedo in my tank but i was just too damm lazy, so i opted just to fit a flush fit pop-up cap instead.

One thing, if you do the speedo on tank thing, the tank is made of REALLY thin steel not heavy guage stuff that aftermarket parts are, and its easy to blow holes in with the welder !!
Bucky is offline  
post #7 of 13 (permalink) Old 07-20-2007, 03:51 AM
and the Adventure Cycle
 
hyperbuzzin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Western PA
Posts: 6,138
iTrader: (1)
   
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bucky View Post
whats to stop you putting the new guage in the OEM tank?
And hold LESS fuel ??!!

It would look different though.

And if the Sportster has a 19" front wheel, the speedo would probably work, as long as it's not electronic.
Not sure about the tank though. I've never looked at one to know if they are anywhere close to similar in design/fit. But if you're handy with a tig welder, anything will fit!


AKA: Tim & 'The Adventure Cycle' VROC #24567, NEVROC, SteelCity VROC


"When life throws you curves,
Aim for the apex."

Author Unknown
hyperbuzzin is offline  
post #8 of 13 (permalink) Old 07-20-2007, 06:53 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: vacaville, ca
Posts: 159
iTrader: (2)
 
I don't want anything for the tank. I just want smaller guages. So if I understand ypu right, another motorcycle with a front whell of 19", the speedo will work?
tanz1983 is offline  
post #9 of 13 (permalink) Old 07-20-2007, 08:06 AM
and the Adventure Cycle
 
hyperbuzzin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Western PA
Posts: 6,138
iTrader: (1)
   
Quote:
Originally Posted by tanz1983 View Post
So if I understand you right, another motorcycle with a front wheel of 19", the speedo will work?
MOST speedo's use the same sized/shape cable end that goes into the speedo unit. (I even used a bicycle one on a dirbike before)

So, I would think, if the donor bike had a 19" wheel, it should be reasonably close to the same internal gearing to be somewhat accurate, and the OEM cable on the Vulcan should fit.
But, as with any mis-matching of bike parts, it's usually trial & error.
If you can find parts cheap, give it a try.


AKA: Tim & 'The Adventure Cycle' VROC #24567, NEVROC, SteelCity VROC


"When life throws you curves,
Aim for the apex."

Author Unknown
hyperbuzzin is offline  
post #10 of 13 (permalink) Old 07-23-2007, 09:57 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 80
iTrader: (0)
 
Actually I think a tank can be pulled off of a VN800 and used. Close in size and is already designed to have the speedo built into it...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bucky View Post
whats to stop you putting the new guage in the OEM tank?

you got to be careful when putting a new tank on, that its not to bulky, because believe me, its looks awful.

I was planning on putting the speedo in my tank but i was just too damm lazy, so i opted just to fit a flush fit pop-up cap instead.

One thing, if you do the speedo on tank thing, the tank is made of REALLY thin steel not heavy guage stuff that aftermarket parts are, and its easy to blow holes in with the welder !!
shameless is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

Once registered, your User Name"cannot be changed". We can make exceptions within 7 days, but after that, it is set in stone.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome