Bags that won't require me to relocate signals... - Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums
Equipment
Everything related to equipment
Includes backrests, luggage racks, windshields,
floorboards, pegs, and riding gear

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 28 (permalink) Old 01-23-2014, 05:32 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 5
iTrader: (0)
 
Bags that won't require me to relocate signals...

Ok, so I've been looking for saddlebags for what seems like forever and I have yet to find a set that doesn't require that I relocate my rear turn signals. I'm beginning to think that there isn't a single set out there that is going to work on the 750 Vulcan without moving the darn signals. Thus, I'm turning to fellow Vulcan riders for some much needed help in my search. Please help me find a set! I really don't want real big bags. I've even considered getting 2 handlebar bags and rigging it up to work as saddlebags...yeah that's the point I've gotten to in my search.
Again, Please help!!!
G3MINI63 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 28 (permalink) Old 01-23-2014, 05:42 PM
Dr. Vulcanstein
 
jadabull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: florida
Posts: 1,536
iTrader: (6)
 
Some of the smaller bags will work as long as they slope away from the signal. Do you not want to re-locate the signal, to keep it original? It's really not hard to do, there is several ways of doing it. Cost me about $16 and 8 minutes.

Oh yeah, welcome to the jungle! Might want to introduce yourself at the newbie check in.


.... - " " - .
..( ___/\ /))
.( l vv/ )(
.) \ O/ )((
..(( .)(. )\ \
.....) . ( / /
.....( )
jadabull is offline  
post #3 of 28 (permalink) Old 01-23-2014, 05:53 PM
ass hole extaordinaire
 
new rider 9984's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Sulphur Springs TX
Posts: 3,780
iTrader: (7)
 
i have some willy and max slants that dont require me to move the signals but the bags are tiny i cant even fit my jacket in there

Quote:
Originally Posted by denny6006 View Post
Sucks getting old but it beats not getting old.

i got my helmet but it sure makes licking the windows a chore

cell phone number for anyone who needs it 214-516-1738

photobucket link
http://s1066.photobucket.com/user/newrider9984/library/
new rider 9984 is offline  
 
post #4 of 28 (permalink) Old 01-23-2014, 06:14 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 5
iTrader: (0)
 
Jadabull, I guess I didn't realize it would be so cheap and quick to move the signals. My last bike was an 82 Honda CX500c and I had to re-do all the wiring and that was a royal pain in the @$$. That said, I just didn't want to get into the all the wiring crap again. I assumed I'd have to extend the wiring to the signals from the relay (or thereabouts) in order to get them to reach the rear fender properly.
If it's really that easy and inexpensive to get 'em moved, I'd be interested in knowing where you got the hardware to do your relocation...?

BTW. I recently posted in the newbie section to into myself.
G3MINI63 is offline  
post #5 of 28 (permalink) Old 01-23-2014, 06:16 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 5
iTrader: (0)
 
new rider 9984, do you know roughly what the dimensions of your bags are? Also, if you don't mind my asking, how much $ did you pay for your bags?
G3MINI63 is offline  
post #6 of 28 (permalink) Old 01-23-2014, 06:22 PM
Dr. Vulcanstein
 
jadabull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: florida
Posts: 1,536
iTrader: (6)
 
I think I paid like $14 +shipping for my aftermarket sigs on eBay. All I did was drill a hole on both sides of the tail light bezel, the wiring runs right under the seat, I had to extend it like 8" or something on each side. You can take a look at my album to see what I mean.

https://www.vn750.com/forum/album.php?albumid=849


.... - " " - .
..( ___/\ /))
.( l vv/ )(
.) \ O/ )((
..(( .)(. )\ \
.....) . ( / /
.....( )
jadabull is offline  
post #7 of 28 (permalink) Old 01-23-2014, 06:46 PM
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: SW Florida
Posts: 2,463
iTrader: (5)
 
each turn signal has a pair of butt connectors for the wiring under the seat. makes extending wires a breeze if needed.

check ebay for relocation brackets. Others on here have made brackets similar in design and styling to the Kawasaki F&S brackets (which where commonly used back then to put bags on). May even find a F&S bag installation kit which includes the brackets, the mounts for bags (to keep soft bags out of the wheel), and wires with proper connectors to extend the turn signals.
michiganteddybear is online now  
post #8 of 28 (permalink) Old 01-24-2014, 01:21 AM
ass hole extaordinaire
 
new rider 9984's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Sulphur Springs TX
Posts: 3,780
iTrader: (7)
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by G3MINI63 View Post
new rider 9984, do you know roughly what the dimensions of your bags are? Also, if you don't mind my asking, how much $ did you pay for your bags?
demension idk never measured but it seems just a tad too small for a 12 pack of bud light cans

price free some guy gave them to me for fixing his starting issue on a 1500 vulcan

Quote:
Originally Posted by denny6006 View Post
Sucks getting old but it beats not getting old.

i got my helmet but it sure makes licking the windows a chore

cell phone number for anyone who needs it 214-516-1738

photobucket link
http://s1066.photobucket.com/user/newrider9984/library/
new rider 9984 is offline  
post #9 of 28 (permalink) Old 01-24-2014, 02:35 AM
Sparky!!!
 
slimvulcanrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 8,695
iTrader: (3)
   
Garage
One of the Dinosaurs on the forum relocated her stock turn signals to the tail light light. I fallowed her tech and dindnt have to rewire any thing to do it. You need a cutoff tool like a Dremel or jig saw, and a drill for hardware, a couple of flat washers, 2 screws and 2 nuts. For me the mod was free because i had every thing laying around in my parts bins. But if you had to pay for the screws, washers, and nuts you would only be looking at 2 to 3 bucks.







slimvulcanrider is offline  
post #10 of 28 (permalink) Old 01-24-2014, 03:00 AM
Senior Member
 
Nitrospaz9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Saddle Brook, NJ
Posts: 1,067
iTrader: (0)
 
I just ordered new turn signals. Just gonna do whatever else does and put them in the tail light.

2007 Kawi ninja-sold
1990 Vulcan 750-sold
2001 Honda Sabre 1100-wrecked then sold
2013 Victory Highball
Ride on wolf
Nitrospaz9 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

Once registered, your User Name"cannot be changed". We can make exceptions within 7 days, but after that, it is set in stone.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome