14" apes on 04 vn750 - Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums
Equipment
Everything related to equipment
Includes backrests, luggage racks, windshields,
floorboards, pegs, and riding gear

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 25 (permalink) Old 01-13-2014, 01:24 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 5
iTrader: (0)
 
14" apes on 04 vn750

I am putting apes on an all black 04 vulcan 750 and can't seem to find new cables to replace the shorter old cables with. Anyone know where I could find said cables and at a decent price? Also, where can I find 1" switches will fit my bike. It seems that everywhere I have asked they say I need costume switches.

Thank you
dwjohnson is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 25 (permalink) Old 01-13-2014, 01:45 PM
Old Fart
 
Knifemaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Catawissa, MO
Posts: 11,673
iTrader: (4)
     
Garage
Six second search:
https://www.vn750.com/forum/showthread.php?t=44434

Why do you want 1" switches for a 7/8" bar?

If You Are Not Sure If I Am Joking or Not....I AM !!Photos:
http://www.flickr.com/photos/knifemaker1954/sets/
Knifemaker is offline  
post #3 of 25 (permalink) Old 01-13-2014, 02:05 PM
Dr. Vulcanstein
 
jadabull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: florida
Posts: 1,536
iTrader: (6)
 
Contact motion pro for the cables, bars are 7/8" so you'll need to use something to shim the 1" switches......sometimes people are looking for answers not criticism


.... - " " - .
..( ___/\ /))
.( l vv/ )(
.) \ O/ )((
..(( .)(. )\ \
.....) . ( / /
.....( )
jadabull is offline  
 
post #4 of 25 (permalink) Old 01-13-2014, 02:20 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 5
iTrader: (0)
 
Thanks. I have searched motion pro and have found cables just don't know which are compatable for my bike. It's my 1st bike if that helps u understand why I'm a bit ignorant, so this is a learning experience for me. Also Ive kind of "customized" my risers, brake reservoir mount, and clutch mount to fit NYC copper 1" bar (regarding the switches). Couldn't really find 7/8 bar with the style I was looking for
dwjohnson is offline  
post #5 of 25 (permalink) Old 01-13-2014, 05:09 PM
Dr. Vulcanstein
 
jadabull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: florida
Posts: 1,536
iTrader: (6)
 
Stock bars have an 8" rise, and I believe you can go up to 14" (may have to splice/add length to the kill switch & starter wires)without having to order new cables an such. Just add the extra length you have an call motion pro and tell them you need them FOR EXAMPLE 6" over the stock length and they already have the Vn750's stock length on their data base. I have worked with them in the past, good company! If you didn't have your custom risers on stocks should still work, so whatever extra length your risers add, way 2" tell them you need 2" over stock, or maybe 3.5 for a little added wiggle room.


.... - " " - .
..( ___/\ /))
.( l vv/ )(
.) \ O/ )((
..(( .)(. )\ \
.....) . ( / /
.....( )

Last edited by jadabull; 01-13-2014 at 11:13 PM.
jadabull is offline  
post #6 of 25 (permalink) Old 01-13-2014, 05:19 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 5
iTrader: (0)
 
Great information! THANKS to the both of you. I don't care really about smart comments as long as it's followed with useful info. I'll post a pic when it's done.
dwjohnson is offline  
post #7 of 25 (permalink) Old 01-13-2014, 09:23 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: GreenwoodFrickinLakeNY
Posts: 10,354
iTrader: (8)
   
Stock are actually 7.5"...I just ordered a pair of Highway Hawk 12" mid-apes for mine....mine are so tight NOW, that even with 4.5" rise, call for longer....mostly the clutch and front brake and speedo....thottle can be rerouted....

Check here for budget bars....will take awile. as they come from Europe....

http://www.phatperformanceparts.com/.../hh-55-240.htm

Drag Specialties has a similar at a higher cost...



Wolfie is offline  
post #8 of 25 (permalink) Old 01-13-2014, 10:50 PM
Senior Member
 
geezyrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Birch Bay Washington
Posts: 185
iTrader: (0)
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by jadabull View Post
Stock bars have an 8" rise, and I believe you can go up to 14" without having to order new cables an such. Just add the extra length you have an call motion pro and tell them you need them FOR EXAMPLE 6" over the stock length and they already have the Vn750's stock length on their data base. I have worked with them in the past, good company! If you didn't have your custom risers on stocks should still work, so whatever extra length your risers add, way 2" tell them you need 2" over stock, or maybe 3.5 for a little added wiggle room.
Could the existing bars be raised with some kind of extender/riser bars? Also it doesn't lookto me that the master cylinder fluid line could be raised more than a few inches without adding a new line or extending the existing one.
geezyrider is offline  
post #9 of 25 (permalink) Old 01-13-2014, 11:00 PM
FREEBIRDS MC CENTRAL NY
 
OleDirtyDoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Norwich,NY
Posts: 15,901
iTrader: (0)
     
Garage
Send a message via Yahoo to OleDirtyDoc
I think raised risers are made for the7/8" bars.yes you can get longer front brake lines.need one for my gs but I had one lying around

Sent from Motorcycle.com Free App

ONE RATS ASS GIVEN PER POST
Support your local FREEBIRDS MC
1986/5 Vn700/750 Frankenfook cross eyed bitch "Mellisa Fayhe"
I am a BIKER and i'm proud.FREEBIRDS MC CENTRAL NY

lowered with progessive 412 10" shocks
rejetted for K/N Pods part#rc 2340
sportster seat

'I didn't lose my mind.i gave it away

BRING BACK WOLFIE."Peace and Carrots"RIP
"And I'm free...as a bird"John Lennon Free as a Bird
"I only carry when I have my pants on"Joe Robinson RIP aka Old Dog
OleDirtyDoc is offline  
post #10 of 25 (permalink) Old 01-13-2014, 11:06 PM
Dr. Vulcanstein
 
jadabull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: florida
Posts: 1,536
iTrader: (6)
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by geezyrider View Post
Could the existing bars be raised with some kind of extender/riser bars? Also it doesn't lookto me that the master cylinder fluid line could be raised more than a few inches without adding a new line or extending the existing one.
Yes, you can get 7/8" risers for stock bars. I also plan on getting 14" bars in the future. Slim has 14" apes on his scoot and used the stock equipment.


.... - " " - .
..( ___/\ /))
.( l vv/ )(
.) \ O/ )((
..(( .)(. )\ \
.....) . ( / /
.....( )
jadabull is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

Once registered, your User Name"cannot be changed". We can make exceptions within 7 days, but after that, it is set in stone.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome