Handlebars - Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums
Equipment
Everything related to equipment
Includes backrests, luggage racks, windshields,
floorboards, pegs, and riding gear

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 12-07-2013, 07:14 AM Thread Starter
1985 VN-700
 
L2fish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Worcester, MA
Posts: 418
iTrader: (0)
 
Handlebars

Has anyone put any different handlebars on in place of the stock mini apes? The factory levers have that stupid bend in them, i know the clutch can be changed. Any suggestions on the front brake?
L2fish is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old 12-07-2013, 08:06 AM
Old Fart
 
Knifemaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Catawissa, MO
Posts: 11,671
iTrader: (4)
     
Garage
Stupid bend?

Don't change your handlebar! The bike will crash!

(Don't try using "search" or putting this in "Equipment" either)


If You Are Not Sure If I Am Joking or Not....I AM !!Photos:
http://www.flickr.com/photos/knifemaker1954/sets/
Knifemaker is offline  
post #3 of 13 (permalink) Old 12-07-2013, 08:54 AM
Dr. Vulcanstein
 
jadabull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: florida
Posts: 1,536
iTrader: (6)
 
Lol @ KM...yes you can change the bars, just make sure they are 7/8" bars. If you get any kind of low profile bars or drag bars you may need risers. Anything over I believe 12" in height you will need to order longer cables. Certain state laws have hieght restrictions. You can change the levers as long as they are for 7/8" bars. And as knifemaker stated try using the search tab at the top of they page, there are lots of threads on this topic.


.... - " " - .
..( ___/\ /))
.( l vv/ )(
.) \ O/ )((
..(( .)(. )\ \
.....) . ( / /
.....( )
jadabull is offline  
 
post #4 of 13 (permalink) Old 12-07-2013, 12:43 PM
Sparky!!!
 
slimvulcanrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 8,695
iTrader: (3)
   
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by jadabull View Post
Lol @ KM...yes you can change the bars, just make sure they are 7/8" bars. If you get any kind of low profile bars or drag bars you may need risers. Anything over I believe 12" in height you will need to order longer cables. Certain state laws have hieght restrictions. You can change the levers as long as they are for 7/8" bars. And as knifemaker stated try using the search tab at the top of they page, there are lots of threads on this topic.
I have 14" apes with stock cables, I had to splice the right hand controls to make the connectors reach. As for the strick levers... I changed mine out to stock Honda CX500 controls later on for a more custom look, and because they were made out of aluminum so I was able to polish them.

Sent from Motorcycle.com Free App
slimvulcanrider is offline  
post #5 of 13 (permalink) Old 12-07-2013, 12:51 PM
Dr. Vulcanstein
 
jadabull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: florida
Posts: 1,536
iTrader: (6)
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by slimvulcanrider View Post
I have 14" apes with stock cables, I had to splice the right hand controls to make the connectors reach. As for the strick levers... I changed mine out to stock Honda CX500 controls later on for a more custom look, and because they were made out of aluminum so I was able to polish them.

Sent from Motorcycle.com Free App
Thanks slim, that's good to know. I've been wanting some 14's.


.... - " " - .
..( ___/\ /))
.( l vv/ )(
.) \ O/ )((
..(( .)(. )\ \
.....) . ( / /
.....( )
jadabull is offline  
post #6 of 13 (permalink) Old 12-07-2013, 12:59 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: South Jersey
Posts: 456
iTrader: (6)
 
I'm actually in the tear down process myself to install 16's

I needed to get new brake lines, had motion pro make new throttle,clutch and choke cables, and had to extend the electrical wiring from both the left and right hand controls.




Sent from Motorcycle.com Free App
jj23 is offline  
post #7 of 13 (permalink) Old 12-07-2013, 01:10 PM
Dr. Vulcanstein
 
jadabull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: florida
Posts: 1,536
iTrader: (6)
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by jj23 View Post
I'm actually in the tear down process myself to install 16's

I needed to get new brake lines, had motion pro make new throttle,clutch and choke cables, and had to extend the electrical wiring from both the left and right hand controls.




Sent from Motorcycle.com Free App
X2 on motion pro, they are great to work with. Can you list the custom lengths you ordered for future reference?


.... - " " - .
..( ___/\ /))
.( l vv/ )(
.) \ O/ )((
..(( .)(. )\ \
.....) . ( / /
.....( )
jadabull is offline  
post #8 of 13 (permalink) Old 12-07-2013, 01:44 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: South Jersey
Posts: 456
iTrader: (6)
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by jadabull View Post
X2 on motion pro, they are great to work with. Can you list the custom lengths you ordered for future reference?
Yea motion pro was fantastic to work with, they make really good stuff.

You don't even need to tell them a length or part number, just tell them you need all the cables for the vn750 in + what ever length you want over the stock ones and they do the rest.


Sent from Motorcycle.com Free App
jj23 is offline  
post #9 of 13 (permalink) Old 12-07-2013, 02:27 PM
FREEBIRDS MC CENTRAL NY
 
OleDirtyDoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Norwich,NY
Posts: 15,900
iTrader: (0)
     
Garage
Send a message via Yahoo to OleDirtyDoc
Quote:
Originally Posted by jj23 View Post
Yea motion pro was fantastic to work with, they make really good stuff.

You don't even need to tell them a length or part number, just tell them you need all the cables for the vn750 in + what ever length you want over the stock ones and they do the rest.


Sent from Motorcycle.com Free App
Wow that's cool.in the future might go for big apes on Melissa Fayhe.for now have a cool set of 12" z bars.would they be able to do harley master to Kawasaki calipers?might go 1" not sure.

ONE RATS ASS GIVEN PER POST
Support your local FREEBIRDS MC
1986/5 Vn700/750 Frankenfook cross eyed bitch "Mellisa Fayhe"
I am a BIKER and i'm proud.FREEBIRDS MC CENTRAL NY

lowered with progessive 412 10" shocks
rejetted for K/N Pods part#rc 2340
sportster seat

'I didn't lose my mind.i gave it away

BRING BACK WOLFIE."Peace and Carrots"RIP
"And I'm free...as a bird"John Lennon Free as a Bird
"I only carry when I have my pants on"Joe Robinson RIP aka Old Dog

Last edited by OleDirtyDoc; 12-07-2013 at 02:38 PM.
OleDirtyDoc is offline  
post #10 of 13 (permalink) Old 12-07-2013, 02:56 PM
Sparky!!!
 
slimvulcanrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 8,695
iTrader: (3)
   
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by OleDirtyDoc View Post
Wow that's cool.in the future might go for big apes on Melissa Fayhe.for now have a cool set of 12" z bars.would they be able to do harley master to Kawasaki calipers?might go 1" not sure.


Sent from Motorcycle.com Free App
first you can adapt most any brake line, secondly a 1600 MC bolts right up to our banjo bolts, and is 1" mount.
slimvulcanrider is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

Once registered, your User Name"cannot be changed". We can make exceptions within 7 days, but after that, it is set in stone.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome