Handlebars - Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums
Equipment
Everything related to equipment
Includes backrests, luggage racks, windshields,
floorboards, pegs, and riding gear

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 15 (permalink) Old 06-16-2013, 09:02 AM Thread Starter
notmechanical
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Illinois
Posts: 67
iTrader: (0)
 
Handlebars

So if im moving from the stock bars of my 94 vulcan 750 to a shorter drag bar type do you have to cut the cables so theres not so much slack? I took them of and tried to re assemble but the cables seemed messed up (throttle and choke).
When i tried putting the twist throttle back and hooking the cables in it was not
chardcastle is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 15 (permalink) Old 06-16-2013, 09:11 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 137
iTrader: (0)
 
Mine worked fine, I rerouted the cables and it fit

92 Stealth
89 Trans Am
67 Camaro
91 suburban v2500
yevgenievich is offline  
post #3 of 15 (permalink) Old 06-16-2013, 02:42 PM Thread Starter
notmechanical
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Illinois
Posts: 67
iTrader: (0)
 
so you just rerouted them or cut them shorter?
chardcastle is offline  
 
post #4 of 15 (permalink) Old 06-16-2013, 03:01 PM
1986 VN750
 
thtanner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Dana Point, CA
Posts: 3,255
iTrader: (8)
 
Garage
He said he re-routed them.

1986 Kawasaki Vulcan 750
NGK Iridium Plugs #7803/DPR7EIX-9
Duralast Gold ETX15 AGM Battery
Coastered & Shaved
TOC MCCTs
Metzeler ME880 [110/90-19, 170/80-15]
Balance Dampers Replaced
Tuxedo Mod
Rebuilt Forks w/ Progressive Springs
V&H Cruzers
VN750.com Grill Cover
Meanstreak Seat
Emgo 23-92411 Handlebars
MOSFET FH012AA R/R


1990 Kawasaki Vulcan 750

1998 Honda VFR800 FI

2014 Honda VFR800F

1989 Pontiac Firebird Formula 350
thtanner is offline  
post #5 of 15 (permalink) Old 06-16-2013, 03:39 PM
Prowling Tiger
 
blazblu82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 2,048
iTrader: (4)
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by chardcastle View Post
So if im moving from the stock bars of my 94 vulcan 750 to a shorter drag bar type do you have to cut the cables so theres not so much slack? I took them of and tried to re assemble but the cables seemed messed up (throttle and choke).
When i tried putting the twist throttle back and hooking the cables in it was not
I use shorter than stock bars and getting equipment back on the bar was a pain because of the extra cable length. The clutch cable was the most PITA to deal with. I have it outside the cable brackets. Gotta be careful of where it is though, I've had it catch the top corner of the radiator shroud.

I only understand what I don't understand.
blazblu82 is offline  
post #6 of 15 (permalink) Old 06-16-2013, 04:31 PM
1986 VN750
 
thtanner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Dana Point, CA
Posts: 3,255
iTrader: (8)
 
Garage
I'm swapping my bars out next week so this is all helpful information! Thanks!

1986 Kawasaki Vulcan 750
NGK Iridium Plugs #7803/DPR7EIX-9
Duralast Gold ETX15 AGM Battery
Coastered & Shaved
TOC MCCTs
Metzeler ME880 [110/90-19, 170/80-15]
Balance Dampers Replaced
Tuxedo Mod
Rebuilt Forks w/ Progressive Springs
V&H Cruzers
VN750.com Grill Cover
Meanstreak Seat
Emgo 23-92411 Handlebars
MOSFET FH012AA R/R


1990 Kawasaki Vulcan 750

1998 Honda VFR800 FI

2014 Honda VFR800F

1989 Pontiac Firebird Formula 350
thtanner is offline  
post #7 of 15 (permalink) Old 06-16-2013, 04:37 PM Thread Starter
notmechanical
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Illinois
Posts: 67
iTrader: (0)
 
Drill hole

so reroute the cables and it should be fine.....i saw my stock bars had a hole drilled, i had asked earlier if i had to drill, i heard no and yes...but im going with yes to be the safest, hopefully i can figure this all out on my own. thanks everyone for the info it all helps.
chardcastle is offline  
post #8 of 15 (permalink) Old 06-16-2013, 04:52 PM
Prowling Tiger
 
blazblu82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 2,048
iTrader: (4)
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by chardcastle View Post
so reroute the cables and it should be fine.....i saw my stock bars had a hole drilled, i had asked earlier if i had to drill, i heard no and yes...but im going with yes to be the safest, hopefully i can figure this all out on my own. thanks everyone for the info it all helps.
Dude, don't waste your time. The hole is not needed. All you need to do is cut off the tab on the housings and make sure the screws are tight. They will only move as far as the lever mounts will allow them, which isn't far. I've ridden mine like this for at least 1000 miles and not one screw has fallen off. If you are concerned about the housings moving, wrap a piece of electrical tape around the bar where they will be mounted.

I've been through 3 different bars and no problems what-so-ever.

I only understand what I don't understand.
blazblu82 is offline  
post #9 of 15 (permalink) Old 06-16-2013, 05:37 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 137
iTrader: (0)
 
mine were not drilled, but that was done by previous owner. I would drill the holes, it does not take long and easy to do. I did not use the stock cable routing brackets, just ran them differently.

92 Stealth
89 Trans Am
67 Camaro
91 suburban v2500
yevgenievich is offline  
post #10 of 15 (permalink) Old 06-16-2013, 07:12 PM Thread Starter
notmechanical
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Illinois
Posts: 67
iTrader: (0)
 
Drilled em!

So i drilled just to be safe and it went fine i rerouted my cables as best i could everything is solid except now my clutch is real hard to squeeze.....whats the remedy? heres a link to the pic https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?f...type=1&theater

Last edited by chardcastle; 06-16-2013 at 07:23 PM.
chardcastle is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

Once registered, your User Name"cannot be changed". We can make exceptions within 7 days, but after that, it is set in stone.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome