Drill Handlebars? - Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums
Equipment
Everything related to equipment
Includes backrests, luggage racks, windshields,
floorboards, pegs, and riding gear

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 06-14-2013, 12:01 AM Thread Starter
notmechanical
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Illinois
Posts: 67
iTrader: (0)
 
Drill Handlebars?

Do you have to drill through the new handlebars if your swapping from stock to new ones?
chardcastle is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 06-14-2013, 12:18 AM
Chasin' the blacktop
 
Spencer1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Maysville GA
Posts: 1,498
iTrader: (0)
 
Not that I've ever heard of. You do need to make sure that the tubes are the same diamater or thickness as ours are, 7/8" I think.

[/SIGPIC][/SIGPIC] The mini-skirt is a very functional article of clothing. With it a woman can run much faster; and because of it she may have too.
North Georgia
Spencer1 is offline  
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 06-14-2013, 12:23 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 450
iTrader: (0)
 
Garage
Most times, yes. You drill for locking the position of your controls. Some cut the nubs off, but that is not a good idea, with it's highvibration, screws can back off and you loose control of the controls.
Rebel13 is offline  
 
post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old 06-14-2013, 12:31 AM Thread Starter
notmechanical
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Illinois
Posts: 67
iTrader: (0)
 
alright

how difficult is this?
chardcastle is offline  
post #5 of 6 (permalink) Old 06-14-2013, 12:40 AM
Prowling Tiger
 
blazblu82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 2,048
iTrader: (4)
 
I have not drilled any new bar yet and have not lost any screws. The worst you may experience is the kill switch housing and the horn button housing will rotate a bit but not much as there are stops on the lever mounts.

One thing I would suggest is using Loctite on the housing screws and if you don't want the housings to move, then wrap that part of the bar in electrical tape.

I only understand what I don't understand.
blazblu82 is offline  
post #6 of 6 (permalink) Old 06-14-2013, 12:46 AM Thread Starter
notmechanical
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Illinois
Posts: 67
iTrader: (0)
 
Awesome thanks!!
chardcastle is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

Once registered, your User Name"cannot be changed". We can make exceptions within 7 days, but after that, it is set in stone.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome