Removing Chrome/Rubber Grips - Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums
Equipment
Everything related to equipment
Includes backrests, luggage racks, windshields,
floorboards, pegs, and riding gear

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 12-21-2009, 06:07 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Dalton, Georgia
Posts: 71
iTrader: (0)
 
Send a message via Yahoo to Mr_Grimm
Removing Chrome/Rubber Grips

Hello AGAIN,

I am trying to get my old grips off and have yet to be successful. I have the chrome/rubber combo grips similar to these http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/Chrom...Q5fAccessories

They have the rubber inside and are covered in chrome. What is the best way to remove these? I tried the archives. I just didn't notice anything beyond slicing or heating rubber grips. Thanks! Merry Christmas!
Mr_Grimm is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 12-21-2009, 06:58 PM
Old Fart
 
Knifemaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Catawissa, MO
Posts: 11,742
iTrader: (4)
     
Garage
My first question here is , are you hoping to save them?

The next would be , is the chrome parts metal or plastic?

If plastic , and you do not plan on trying to save them, grab some vice grips and tear them apart. If you get the plastic off, you can just cut off the rubber parts.

If the chrome parts are metal and/or you hope to save the grips:

You can try squirting some WD 40 under the grip by poking a small screwdriver in to create the tunnel and try working the grips off. An airhose also works well.

The last question is , did you put them on there yourself?

You may find the previous owner used the wrong glue , the right glue, or none at all. The throttle side is the most difficult because the throttle tube is plastic and you may end up breaking it going with the first suggestions.

This is why I only use grips I can cut off with a razor knife.

KM

If You Are Not Sure If I Am Joking or Not....I AM !!Photos:
http://www.flickr.com/photos/knifemaker1954/sets/
Knifemaker is offline  
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 12-22-2009, 01:14 AM
The Professor
 
lance328's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: BUFORD, GEORGIA
Posts: 3,147
iTrader: (15)
   
They are metal, as far as removing them, Why????

I have them on mine, comfortable grips.

You will have to destroy them to rmove.


85 VN700 "Old Yella"

REBUILT ENGINE
CUSTOM PAINT
VANCE & HINES CRUZERS
EAR SHAVED AND RE-JETTED W/K&N'S
DUNLOP ELITE K591 FRONT & REAR
VOLTMETER
SYNTHETIC BRAKE FLUID
SYNTHETIC OIL & GEAR LUBE
PLEXISTAR 2 WINDSHIELD
SPLINES LUBED
ACCT'S GREASED W/TOC SPRINGS
COASTERD
LEATHER SADDLE BAGS
LEATHER TOOL AND ROLL BAG
PICKUP COILS GAPPED AT .018"
NGK CAP, WIRES, IRIDUMS
BARNETT FRICTION PLATES & SPRINGS
CUSTOM GRIPS, MIRRORS, LEVERS
ORIGINAL STATOR & R/R 14.5v
DEKA MF AGM ETX15L

Best Auto/Moto Insurance | Motorcycle Protection Today | FREE Trade-In Quote
lance328 is offline  
 
post #4 of 7 (permalink) Old 12-22-2009, 06:17 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Dalton, Georgia
Posts: 71
iTrader: (0)
 
Send a message via Yahoo to Mr_Grimm
*sigh*.... They are metal. They were put on forever ago by someone else. I had to use a hacksaw on the clutch side. (I was replacing the old handlebars, too.) They were bent from repeated drops before I got it and were like ape hangers! Needless to say that the grips have seen better days, too.

Anyway, I wanted to update the throttle side. I can get the grips off of the handlebars... I just can't get the throttle tube off of the grip... Suggestions would be WD 40, prayer, a screw driver, and an air hose?

How do I replace the tube if I break it? My local Kawi Shop says they can only get me a whole assembly when I would just need the throttle tube. I don't want to pay $40 for an $8 part. With regards to the throttle... Is it two cables, just a return cable, a spring, what? How does the throttle return to idle position? Are there any universal throttle sleeves that work for our bike?

Thanks guys! Merry Christmas or eqivalent! Sorry, I was trying to be politically correct.

Last edited by Mr_Grimm; 12-22-2009 at 06:20 PM.
Mr_Grimm is offline  
post #5 of 7 (permalink) Old 12-22-2009, 06:49 PM
Members who have donated towards server costs
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Chandler, Arizona
Posts: 3,007
iTrader: (0)
 
Well, I guess I have to agree with KM here, about installing grips you can't get off. The Vulcan 750 uses 2 throttle cables. I'm not sure why, just unnecessary complication, many bikes do just fine with one cable. I can't even find the throttle assembly on www.bikebandit.com.

Many bikes, including the Vulcan 750, have another problem when it comes to installing aftermarket grips. The throttle tube has a ridge around it, close to the inner end, which fits into a groove in the stock grip, which aftermarket grips don't have. This is apparently designed to prevent the grip from turning on the throttle tube, but just like the 2 cables, is unnecessary. I have foam grips on mine, and I had to carefully cut this ridge off to make them fit.


If you cannot get jest the throttle tube from a dealer, try Motion Pro. They make several different models of throttle tubes, one of them may fit the Vulcan. I bought one for my dirt bike, but it uses the much simpler single cable system. Jerry.

I am a motorcyclist, NOT a biker.


1997 Vulcan 750, purchased about a week ago
2006 Sportster 1200 Low
2013 Royal Enfield Bullet 500, converted to carb
2001 Yamaha XT225, heavily modified
2004 Honda Rebel 250
1979 Vespa P200E
2002 Vulcan 750 parts bike
1994 Yamaha XT225 parts bike
VN750Rider/Jerry is offline  
post #6 of 7 (permalink) Old 12-22-2009, 06:50 PM
Old Fart
 
Knifemaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Catawissa, MO
Posts: 11,742
iTrader: (4)
     
Garage
Someone just recently got a new throttle tube off ebay for a couple of bucks. Worth doing a search unless some can point it out to you. ( I remember it because I asked them to list the link and part number after they were sure it fit)

Kawasaki sells the throttle tube , but with a stock grip already on it. Not really that hard to just cut it off, but right, why pay for it if you ain't going to use it.

If I find the link I'll post it here.

Bingo! see last post here:
https://www.vn750.com/forum/showthrea...g+grips&page=2



KM

If You Are Not Sure If I Am Joking or Not....I AM !!Photos:
http://www.flickr.com/photos/knifemaker1954/sets/

Last edited by Knifemaker; 12-22-2009 at 06:56 PM.
Knifemaker is offline  
post #7 of 7 (permalink) Old 12-22-2009, 11:49 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Dalton, Georgia
Posts: 71
iTrader: (0)
 
Send a message via Yahoo to Mr_Grimm
Thanks KM! I am surprised that I didnt' break it changing my handlebars. Good fortune I guess. But if you can get the grip and throttle off of the handlebar shouldn't it just slip out or something? Hope it won't get ugly.

Thanks again guys! We'll see if I can get it from here.

Last edited by Mr_Grimm; 12-22-2009 at 11:54 PM.
Mr_Grimm is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

Once registered, your User Name"cannot be changed". We can make exceptions within 7 days, but after that, it is set in stone.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome