Front bearings - Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums
Wheels, Suspension and Brakes
Everything to do with wheels, tires,
suspension, forks and brakes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 08-04-2007, 11:38 PM Thread Starter

Front bearings

Next week I hope to upgrade to new progressive springs. It all started when my dust seal decided to ride up my fork. I had noticed for some time that both dust seals were disintegrating. I had figured water had gotten under there or the seal had just given up. My 95vn750 has less than 10,000 miles and after joining this group less then a month or so ago I decided to stop paying crazy repair bills. I have some experience working on cars so I decided to give this a try albeit with the wisdom from this collective. So while the dust seals have to go I might as well upgrade the springs. The seals are not leaking in the least but might as well do those to. Needless to say there is a lot of information here on the springs and seals but I'm actually thinking I should also change the bearings in the front wheel. They are not that expensive and truth be told I would like to use some of the DuPont Performance lubricant XHTBDX my girl bought for me. It will be interesting to check this bearing again in another 10,000 to see if the lube makes a difference since heat kills bearings.
I replaced my tires about a thousand miles ago to Rt66's and had the brakes done both front and back but not the bearings. I found three posts here on messing with the bearings but no seems well versed in doing this. Can anyone help me? There is a list of necessary parts on one of the posts so I believe I have that covered.
http://autos.groups.yahoo.com/group/VN750/message/38501