Front Tire not quite straight - Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums
Wheels, Suspension and Brakes
Everything to do with wheels, tires,
suspension, forks and brakes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 07-07-2007, 01:36 AM Thread Starter

Front Tire not quite straight

Hey everyone. I noticed a slight problem with my bike when I was out riding tonight. The front tire points very slightly to the left; I need to keep my left hand slightly farther forward to make it ride in a straight line. Its not a huge deal, and seems to be only a slight "off-center-ness", but if it isnt hard to fix, i'd like to... I'm brand new to bike suspensions, but am pretty good at turining a wrench.

Thanks!
Dan
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 07-07-2007, 02:41 AM
and the Adventure Cycle

It could be the forks slightly askew in the triple clamps, or it could be bent handlebars. As both will give the same feeling.

Are you sure the bars aren't bent?

If it is in the triple clamps, this is how I'd go about straightening it...
Put the bike on the centerstand.
Place a jack of some sort under the front of the engine (a piece of wood or something like that between the jack and the engine would be a good idea). Only lifting it until it makes firm contact, but doesn't really lift the front of the bike. (this is just to keep the forks from moving up or down in the clamps)
Loosen one bolt on each side of the triple clamps (there are two per side, one for the upper clamp, one for the lower).
The remaining bolt, just break it loose, then don't go more than about 1/4 turn.
You should be able to, ever so slightly, move the wheel/forks (while having someone holding the bars from moving) in the direction needed to straighten the wheel to the handlebars (hit the wheel to the riders right in this case). Some persuation may be needed (a rubber mallet or similar to the front of the wheel)