Front Brakes Locking up. - Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums
Wheels, Suspension and Brakes
Everything to do with wheels, tires,
suspension, forks and brakes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 10-12-2013, 10:25 PM Thread Starter

Question Front Brakes Locking up.

I am new to the forms but have been reading here for a while. I have a 93' 750 and have only had it for about a month. It is my first bike and I am a newish rider. My dad has a 00' 750 and from riding his I fell in love with the VN750s. I rode it for a few days and had no problems out of it until I rode it from Jax FL. to Jesup Ga.

I was almost where I was trying to go when I stopped for gas. When I went to start it again the Batt was dead and I had to go to the AutoZone next door and buy a new Batt. Here it is a few weeks laster and the batt will not stay charged. i hook it it up to the charger and it will start up just fine. After a while of riding around it will have trouble starting up and then just not start up at all. I have read on here a lot about this issue and I believe I have narrowed it down to the R/R or the Stator. I will do my best to test it and see which one this weekend and see what I need to buy for it.

Also, the same time as all this started. When I went to pull out of the AutoZone I was on my way and could not get any power and started to smell a burning. I started to pull over and realized my front brakes were completely locked up. The bike stalled on me in the turning lane and a guy had to help me move it off the road and it was a pain because the front tire would not move at all. I let it set in a gas station parking lot a while then suddenly the brakes were just fine. They stay good for a little while but after a few uses they lock up again and the only way I get them to free up is to simply wait or bleed them.