What's up with these brakes??? - Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums
Wheels, Suspension and Brakes
Everything to do with wheels, tires,
suspension, forks and brakes

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 14 (permalink) Old 04-27-2007, 06:52 PM Thread Starter
Members who have donated towards server costs
 
Crobins365's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Kennett Square, PA
Posts: 3,505
iTrader: (48)
     
Question What's up with these brakes???

I cleaned up the rear brake assembly on O. and then installed a new cable, thinking that that was the cause of the "softness" in the pedal and brake application. Not to be - still had to adjust and adjust and adjust. So last night, I put in some newer brake shoes that I'd gotten off of eBay and tossed the old ones. Reinstalled the wheel, and I'm still at the same set-up. If someone can look at these pics, do tell: Why is my brake cable so long?? At the mid-point bracket (bad pic, sorry), the housing is in so that the eclip is over the slot closest to the head of the cable - I could back it up to the second slot, but that would only increase the curve at the front. Ideas??

C

Last edited by Crobins365; 08-29-2007 at 09:30 AM.
Crobins365 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 14 (permalink) Old 04-27-2007, 08:31 PM
Members who have donated towards server costs
 
93VN750's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Tampa, Florida
Posts: 1,766
iTrader: (2)
 
Send a message via Skype™ to 93VN750
Cindy -

How does it compare to your other bike? From the look on the rear adjuster, something is amuck. I haven't seen one more than say an inch in off the end of the rod.

If the adjustment you mention you could make would take some of the cable out of the middle cable (pull it forward), then try it.

Where's you coolant overflow tank?

Jon

93VN750, under re-construction
vn750.com Member # 828

Rick's Stator and R/R
MF AGM Battery
Coastered
Degoated
Shaved & Jetted
Iridium's
MAC Tapered Staggered Pipes
Battery/Temp/Clock Gauge
Stainless Steel Brake Lines
Dunlop D-404's
23,XXX miles and holding pending gasket change (underway!!!)
93VN750 is offline  
post #3 of 14 (permalink) Old 04-27-2007, 10:06 PM Thread Starter
Members who have donated towards server costs
 
Crobins365's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Kennett Square, PA
Posts: 3,505
iTrader: (48)
     
Quote:
Originally Posted by 93VN750 View Post
Cindy -

How does it compare to your other bike? From the look on the rear adjuster, something is amuck. I haven't seen one more than say an inch in off the end of the rod.

If the adjustment you mention you could make would take some of the cable out of the middle cable (pull it forward), then try it.

Where's you coolant overflow tank?

Jon
The adjuster is waaaaaay in compared to the other two bikes. I'd say on the 92, I've got maybe 1/2 inch behind the adjusting barrel. This is on the order of probably 3+ inches. The coolant res is hanging off the side of the bike - this is Orleans, so she's still a work in progress. It was easier getting to everything without the reservoir off.

I'm thinking...well, I dunno what I'm thinking. Was there a slight change in the frame size between years and maybe I got the wrong cable from Ayers? The cable that came on the bike was also adjusted way in, but I figured it was either an old cable or that the brake shoes were dust. Changing both hasn't made a difference.

C
Crobins365 is offline  
 
post #4 of 14 (permalink) Old 04-27-2007, 10:13 PM
and the Adventure Cycle
 
hyperbuzzin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Western PA
Posts: 6,138
iTrader: (1)
   
Maybe the PO of Orleans moved the brake drum arm forward (don't know why they would have, but it's a possibility) so now it might need moved back to the original position?
I'd try comparing the length of the new cable to the one on your '92 and see if ya did receive the wrong one.


AKA: Tim & 'The Adventure Cycle' VROC #24567, NEVROC, SteelCity VROC


"When life throws you curves,
Aim for the apex."

Author Unknown
hyperbuzzin is offline  
post #5 of 14 (permalink) Old 04-27-2007, 10:30 PM
Members who have donated towards server costs
 
95VN750's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Grants Pass, Oregon
Posts: 303
iTrader: (0)
 
Hey Cindy... Just went out for a look see on mine... the cable ( in pic one ) does not look like it is down all the way in the bracket... and the part it hooks to seems a little high. Is there another hole to mount to that will bring it down a bit? Mine is just about flush with the frame. you might try taking it back out and cleaning out both ends on the bike where the cable mounts.. it might not be seating all the way.... maybe both ends.
Other than that I hope you get it figured out! Good luck with her!

1980 440LTD
1976 KZ900
1995 VN750 19,500 miles ( start of '08 season ) All mine!
Can't have too many Kaws!
95VN750 is offline  
post #6 of 14 (permalink) Old 04-28-2007, 08:37 AM
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 227
iTrader: (0)
 
Check your brake pedel, Make sure the "." is lined up with the "_" the brake pedel is adjustable on the splined shaft
wwmkwood is offline  
post #7 of 14 (permalink) Old 04-28-2007, 08:59 AM
Stranger Than Fiction
 
cmanningjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Alabama
Posts: 151
iTrader: (0)
 
Send a message via MSN to cmanningjr
It looks to me like the lever on te drum is in way too far, It may have been moved.

'92 Vn750

cmanningjr is offline  
post #8 of 14 (permalink) Old 04-28-2007, 09:21 AM Thread Starter
Members who have donated towards server costs
 
Crobins365's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Kennett Square, PA
Posts: 3,505
iTrader: (48)
     
Uh, oh - I may have moved it when I cleaned it up the first time...no, wait, the cable was a problem from the outset, so I may have rebuilt it the way it was, which was wrong (kinda like the reed valves - bassackwards). Anybody have a pic of how that arm should look pre-cabled? How far back should it be?

Wmkwood - say again where I can adjust the brake pedal play at the..splines?

Thanks, and I'll post again once I've pulled the wheel.

C
Crobins365 is offline  
post #9 of 14 (permalink) Old 04-28-2007, 10:11 AM
Stranger Than Fiction
 
cmanningjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Alabama
Posts: 151
iTrader: (0)
 
Send a message via MSN to cmanningjr
I'll make you a pic of mine today.....

'92 Vn750

cmanningjr is offline  
post #10 of 14 (permalink) Old 04-28-2007, 12:16 PM Thread Starter
Members who have donated towards server costs
 
Crobins365's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Kennett Square, PA
Posts: 3,505
iTrader: (48)
     
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmanningjr View Post
I'll make you a pic of mine today.....
Thanks. I was just reading through the service manual a few minutes ago - I think I know what I did wrong.

C
Crobins365 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

Once registered, your User Name"cannot be changed". We can make exceptions within 7 days, but after that, it is set in stone.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome